The primary fellowship site is Memorial Hermann-Texas Medical Center, which operates the busiest Life Flight service in the country, covering a 150-mile radius with a population of 5,500,000 people. It is one of the busiest trauma centers in the country, admitting more polytrauma patients per year than any other US institution. Fellows rotate through different services at MHH-TMC, treating over 300 pelvic and acetabular fractures per year.

Participating faculty include Drs. Timothy Achor, Andrew Burgess, Andrew Choo, Jonathan Eastman, William Harvin, James Kellam, Patrick Kellam, John Munz, Milton “Chip” Routt, Jide Tinubu, Camden Tissue, and Stephen Warner.

In addition to fractures of the pelvis and acetabulum, Fellows are also exposed to complex periarticular fractures and long bone fractures, nonunions and malunions. Typically, on weekdays there are 4-5 orthopaedic trauma OR’s running concurrently; on weekends there are 2 OR’s running. There are daily trauma conferences, weekly teaching fracture conference, cadaver labs, and Grand Rounds. This fellowship participates in the San Francisco Match Program and is accredited by the OTA and Texas Medical Board.

In keeping with the Department of Orthopaedic Surgery’s focus on research and innovation, each Fellow is responsible for completing a minimum of one research project during the one year fellowship. The research requirement will be considered to be met upon the completion of one manuscript of publishable quality. Each Fellow will meet with the Fellowship Director on a monthly basis and provide research update. Each Fellow will present their findings at Research Day in June.