February 22, 2024

IBP Awards & Announcements

We are pleased to announce some of the recent achievements of our outstanding faculty, postdocs, and students. Awards Anna Atamanchuk, PhD, (Dr. Oleh Pochynyuk’s Lab) is the recipient of a two-year postdoctoral fellowship through the American Heart Association for her…

November 29, 2023

Xiaodong Cheng, PhD, Named 2023 ASPET Fellow

Dr. Xiaodong Cheng, Professor and Vice Chair for the Department of Integrative Biology and Pharmacology, is a recipient of the 2023 ASPET Fellow award for his outstanding contributions to the field of pharmacology. Each year, The American Society for Pharmacology…

November 29, 2023

Reducing Protein Synthesis in Early Adulthood Extends Lifespan and Healthspan

The rate at which proteins are synthesized or made is elevated for a brief period during early adulthood in flies, mice and even humans. The researchers found this early-life rise in protein synthesis to be a potent driver of age-related…

September 22, 2023

Andrew Pickering, Ph.D.

September 11, 2023

Junchen Liu, PhD

August 17, 2023

Hongyuan (Robert) Yang, PhD

February 14, 2023

UTHealth Houston BIG-TCR Training Program in Cancer Research

Sseu-Pei Hwang recently earned a spot in the UTHealth Houston BIG-TCR Training Program in Cancer Research as a 2023 predoctoral fellow. Check out the Facebook post here

December 8, 2022

Targeting enzyme could alleviate muscle wasting for cancer patients

By Caitie Barkley, Office of Public Affairs December 8, 2022 Targeting a specific enzyme in the muscle could help cancer patients preserve muscle mass and potentially prolong their survival, according to research from UTHealth Houston. A study led by Yi-Ping Li, PhD,…

November 17, 2022

Dessauer named ASPET fellow

By Roman Petrowski, Office of Communications November 16, 2022 The American Society for Pharmacology and Experimental Therapeutics (ASPET) has named Carmen Dessauer, PhD, professor and chair ad interim in the Department of Integrative Biology and Pharmacology as a member of its 2022 class of Fellows….

September 20, 2022

Hancock, Dessauer accept leadership roles at McGovern Medical School

JULY 29, 2022 MEREDITH RAINE/ UTHEALTH HOUSTON MEDIA RELATIONS Following a national search for a permanent dean of McGovern MedicalSchool at UTHealth Houston, Graduate School faculty member John F. Hancock, MA, MB, BChir, PhD, ScD, will be the new executive dean and…