Dr. Ostrosky-Zeichner is a professor of medicine and epidemiology, Memorial Hermann Endowed Chair, the Vice-Chair of Medicine for Healthcare Quality, the director of the Laboratory of Mycology Research, and the Division Chief at the Division of Infectious Diseases of the McGovern Medical School (a part of UTHealth). He also serves as the Chief Epidemiology Officer and Associate Director for Antimicrobial Stewardship for Memorial Hermann Healthcare System and UT Physicians. He coordinates the emerging infection response for UTHealth and its affiliated hospitals and clinics.

Dr. Ostrosky-Zeichner obtained his medical degree from Universidad Nacional Autonoma de Mexico. He completed his internal medicine residency at Instituto Nacional de Ciencias Medicas y Nutricion Salvador Zubiran, and his infectious diseases fellowship at the University of Texas Medical School at Houston and MD Anderson Cancer Center combined fellowship program.

Dr. Ostrosky-Zeichner is a fellow of the American College of Physicians, the Infectious Diseases Society of America, the Society of Healthcare Epidemiology of America, and the Academy of the European Confederation of Medical Mycology. He is a Senior Editor for the Journal of Antimicrobial Chemotherapy and an Associate Editor for Clinical Infectious Diseases. He is the President of the Mycoses Study Group and Educational Consortium and the Vice-President of the International Immunocompromised Host Society. He is also a past chair of the Infectious Diseases Society of America Standards and Practice Guidelines Committee and has been a consultant to the US FDA and CDC. He has advanced training and experience in medical mycology, healthcare epidemiology, emerging infections, antimicrobial stewardship, general and transplant infectious diseases, and healthcare quality, and has published over 200 peer-reviewed articles on those topics.


Medical Degree
Facultad de Medicina, Universidad Nacional Autonoma de México, México
Instituto Nacional de la Nutrición Salvador Zubirán/ Universidad Nacional Autonoma de Mexico, Mexico
University of Texas- Houston Medical School
M.D. Anderson Cancer Center, Houston, Texas