Dr. Johnson completed his medical school in 1979 and residency in 1982 at Baylor College of Medicine. He completed a Fellowship in Infectious Disease at the University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston (UTHealth) in 1982. He was appointed Division Director in 1989 and remains actively involved in clinical patient care, teaching, and research. Dr. Johnson served as the Associate Program Director of the University Clinical Research Center at Memorial Hermann Hospital for 15 years. His research areas of interest are gastrointestinal and fungal infections, and HIV/AIDS. He was awarded the Humanism in Medicine Award in 2001, the Herbert L. and Margaret W. DuPont Clinical Teaching Award in 2010, and as a Distinguished Physician at Memorial Hermann Hospital in 2015. He was appointed as a Vice Chairman in Internal Medicine in 2008. He was named the Carolyn and William T. Deffebach Distinguished Professor of Internal Medicine and the Jerold B. Katz Family Distinguished Professor in General Internal Medicine in 2018. Dr. Johnson was listed in Texas Super Doctors and the Best Doctors in America and was voted as one of Houston’s Top Doctors. Dr. Johnson is an American Board of Internal Medicine as well as a Fellow in the American College of Physicians. He has published 58 original refereed journal articles, 31 invited articles, and 25 book chapters. He has served on the Board of the Texas Chapter of the America College of Physicians. He additionally served as Chair of Memorial Herman Hospital TMC Pharmacy & Therapeutics Committee, the Memorial Hermann Medical Doctors Pharmacy and Therapeutics Sub-Committee and the Harris Health General Pharmacy and Therapeutics Sub-Committee. He also was Chairman of the Board of Amigos de las Americas and Family Service Center Houston. He currently is on the Board of Directors of Amigos de las Americas and Faith in Practice, a medical mission program in Guatemala. He and his wife direct two teams of Faith in Practice each year.


Medical Degree
Baylor College of Medicine
Baylor College of Medicine
UTHealth McGovern Medical School