Maureen D. Mayes, M.D., M.P.H.

Elizabeth Bidgood Chair in Rheumatology
Professor - Rheumatology and Clinical Immunogenetics

Contact Information

  • Office Phone: 713-500-6900
  • Fax: 713-512-2246
  • Clinical Phone: 713-486-3100

Request an appointment via UT Physicians

Education & Training

Eastern Virginia Medical School, Norfolk, VA
Cleveland Clinic Foundation
Cleveland Clinic Foundation

Certifications & Interests

Board Certifications
National Board of Medical Examiners
American Board of Internal Medicine, No. 71012
American Board of Internal Medicine, Subspecialty Board in Rheumatology, No. 71012

Dr. Mayes completed her rheumatology fellowship and internal medicine training at the Cleveland Clinic following her graduation from Eastern Virginia Medical School. She joined the faculty as a Professor of Medicine in 2002.  Dr. Mayes is the recipient of many distinctions and awards including being named Master of the American College of Rheumatology, winner of the Spirit of Hope Award from the Scleroderma Foundation and listed in Best Doctors in America as well as Texas Super Doctors. She is the founder and director of the Scleroderma Clinical and Research Program and her primary clinical interest is in the diagnosis and treatment of scleroderma. She sees patients in the UT Professional Building clinic. She holds the Elizabeth Bidgood Chair in Rheumatology.

Dr. Mayes’ research efforts have been funded by the National Institutes of Health and other funding agencies. She conducts basic science research on the genetics of scleroderma as well as clinical treatment trials to find better therapies for this disease. She has published over 200 articles and reviews in the medical literature describing her findings. She has also written a book for patients (The Scleroderma Book: A Guide for Patients and Families).

Memorial Hermann Hospital System
Harris Health System
MD Anderson Cancer Center
TIRR Memorial Hermann
Kindred Hospital