Dr. Mayes completed her Rheumatology Fellowship and Internal Medicine training at the Cleveland Clinic following her graduation from Eastern Virginia Medical School. She received a Masters in Public Health (MPH) in Epidemiology at the University of Michigan School of Public Health in 1994. She joined the University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston (UTHealth) faculty as a Professor of Medicine in 2002. Dr. Mayes is the recipient of many distinctions and awards including being named Master of the American College of Rheumatology, winner of the Spirit of Hope Award from the Scleroderma Foundation and listed in Best Doctors in America as well as Texas Super Doctors. She is the founder and director of the Scleroderma Clinical and Research Program and her primary clinical interest is in the diagnosis and treatment of scleroderma. She sees patients in the UT Professional Building clinic. She holds the Elizabeth Bidgood Chair in Rheumatology.

Dr. Mayes’ research efforts have been funded by the National Institutes of Health and other funding agencies. She conducts basic science research on the genetics of scleroderma as well as clinical treatment trials to find better therapies for this disease. She has published over 250 articles and reviews in the medical literature describing her findings. She has also written a book for patients (The Scleroderma Book: A Guide for Patients and Families).


Medical Degree
Eastern Virginia Medical School, Norfolk, VA
Cleveland Clinic Foundation
Cleveland Clinic Foundation
Master of Public Health
University of Michigan

Board Certifications

  • National Board of Medical Examiners
  • American Board of Internal Medicine, No. 71012
  • American Board of Internal Medicine, Subspecialty Board in Rheumatology, No. 71012