Epilepsy Fellowship Program



McGovern Medical School at UTHealth in Houston, TX has six epilepsy fellowship positions available annually beginning July 1st in either an ACGME-accredited epilepsy fellowship program or a non-ACGME Texas Medical Board-approved Intracranial EEG fellowship program. We are currently looking to fill two positions for either ACGME or non-ACGME fellows to start in July 2022. We will begin interviewing for the 2023-2024 academic year in the Summer of 2021. Interviews can be conducted virtually or in-person. In-person interviews must be booked at least 3 weeks in advance.

The ACGME-accredited epilepsy fellowship is a one-year program, and fellows in the ACGME-accredited program may apply for an optional second year of fellowship in the non-ACGME Intracranial EEG fellowship program. Applicants for the ACGME-accredited fellowship must have completed a residency in neurology, child neurology or general psychiatry in an ACGME-accredited residency program, an AOA-approved residency program, a program with ACGME International (ACGME-I) Advanced Specialty Accreditation, or a Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada (RCPSC)-accredited or College of Family Physicians of Canada (CFPC)-accredited residency program located in Canada.

The Non-ACGME Intracranial EEG fellowship is a one-year fellowship focused on intractable epilepsy management, intracranial EEG and advanced imaging modalities. Applicants must have completed neurology residency in programs equivalent to a standard US neurology residency program, and possess ECFMG certification that allows clinical training in the USA.

The fellowships are based in the Texas Comprehensive Epilepsy Program (TCEP) at McGovern Medical School at UTHealth and Memorial Hermann Hospital – Texas Medical Center in Houston, TX. The TCEP is one of the largest epilepsy surgery programs in the US, performing in excess of 100 surgeries per year, and utilizes cutting edge technologies including robotic stereotactic EEG (SEEG), MR guided laser interstitial thermal therapy (LITT), magnetoencephalography (MEG), Responsive Neural Stimulation (RNS) and Deep Brain Stimulation (DBS). It boasts renowned faculty who are international opinion leaders and teachers, expert in SEEG and invasive studies of the human brain. Some of the faculty are active, federally (NIH) funded researchers, and there are many opportunities for mentorship and publications in clinical and translational research. It is expected that upon graduation from fellowship, the candidate will be highly competent in the medical and surgical management of intractable focal epilepsy, including neuromodulation for epilepsy, and an expert in epilepsy neurophysiology.

The fellowship program is designed to maximize learning and clinical experience, and is thus suitable for those planning careers in academic hospital medicine, as well as those headed for private practice. Training begins with a mandatory 8-week epilepsy neurophysiology course that provides a highly effective introduction to clinical EEG, followed by weekly didactics. The TCEP has busy weekly surgical patient management conferences, a monthly surgical neuropathology conference and weekly epilepsy outpatient clinics. When travel policy allows, participation in national and international epilepsy meetings will be encouraged, and candidates will be sponsored to attend one or more of the international SEEG teaching courses. Clinical rotations include the Epilepsy Monitoring Unit, Continuous ICU-EEG, Routine EEGs, and electives in Intra-operative Monitoring and Sleep.

Inquiries are most welcome. Please send your CV, personal statement, and this application form to the epilepsy fellowship program coordinator, Andrew Coulter, at Andrew.Coulter@uth.tmc.edu. We also require 3 letters of recommendation to schedule interviews. Letters should also be sent via email to Andrew.Coulter@uth.tmc.edu. You may also contact our fellowship program director, Dr. Sandipan Pati, MD, or the director of the Texas Comprehensive Epilepsy Program, Dr. Sam Lhatoo, MD, FRCP (Lon).