Bei Zhang, MD, MSc wins prestigious AAP Resident of the Year Award

June 2, 2022

Bei Zhang, MD, MSc, a graduate of UTHealth Houston’s PM&R Residency Program Class of 2021, was named the McLean Outstanding Resident of the Year by the Association of Academic Physiatrists (AAP). This honor is awarded to a resident or fellow who demonstrates outstanding performance in academic leadership, education, and research.

As a resident physician, Dr. Zhang authored 12 peer-reviewed publications, book chapters, and presented nationally on the care of individuals with severe traumatic brain injury and disorders of consciousness. She is completing fellowship in Brain Injury Medicine at Harvard University-Spaulding Rehabilitation Network in Boston, MA. She is pictured below following the awards ceremony with two of her faculty mentors, Sheng Li, MD, PhD and Cindy Ivanhoe, MD.

Congratulations, Dr. Zhang!

Dr. Bei Zhang with faculty mentor Dr. Sheng LiDr. Bei Zhang with faculty mentor Dr. Cindy Ivanhoe

Share content