UTHealth Medical School

jacqueline-hecht
Contact Info
Jacqueline.T.Hecht@uth.tmc.edu

Academic Office
(713) 500-5764

Professor and Division Head,
Pediatric Research Center,
Vice Chair for Research,
Leah L. Lewis Distinguished Chair,
Department of Pediatrics, UTHealth Medical School,
Associate Dean for Research,
UTHealth School of Dentistry

Education & Background

Graduate School
University of Texas School of Public Health
Houston, Texas
1988

Certifications

American Board of Medical Genetics, 1982 (M.S.)
American Board of Medical Genetics, 2009 (Ph.D.)
American Board of Genetic Counseling, 2003 (M.S.)


Interests

Clinical Interests
Medical Genetics, Orthopedic Genetic Disorders, Dwarfing Conditions, Craniofacial Disorders.
Research Interests
Gene discovery in cleft lip and palate, Role of mutant cartilage oligomeric matrix protein (MT-COMP) in pseudochondroplasia.

Publications

Chiquet, B.T., Lidral, A.C., Stal, S., Mulliken, J.B., Moreno, L.M., Arco-Burgos, M., Valencia, C.R., Blanton, S.H., Hecht, J.T.:  CRISPLD2:  A Novel NSCLP Candidate Gene.  Hum Mole Genet, 16:2241-8, 2007.  NIHMS133941.  PMID: 17616516; PMCID: PMC3755375.

Posey, K.L., Veerisetty, A.C., Wang, H.R., Poindexter, B.J., Bick, R., Alcorn, J.L., Hecht, J.T.:  An inducible COMP mouse model recapitulates human PSACH phenotype.  Am J Pathol, 175:1555-63, 2009.  PMID: 19762713; PMCID:  PMC2751552.

Posey, K.L., Coustry, F., Veerisetty, A.C., Liu, P., Alcorn, J.L., Hecht, J.T.:  Chop (Ddit3) Is Essential for D469del-COMP Retention and Cell Death in Chondrocytes in an Inducible Transgenic Mouse Model of Pseudoachondroplasia.  Am J Pathol 180:727-37, 2012.  PMID: 22154935; PMCID: PMC3349877.

Posey, K.L., Coustry, F., Veerisetty, A.C., Liu, P., Alcorn, J.L., Hecht, J.T. Chondrocyte-specific pathology during skeletal growth and therapeutics in a murine model of pseudoachondroplasia. J Bone Min Res, May 2014; 29(5): 1258-1268. PMID: 24194321.  PMCID: PMC4075045

Posey, K.L., Alcorn, A.L., Hecht, J.T.: Pseudoachondroplasia/COMP – Translating from the bench to the bedside. Matrix Biol, July 2014. PMID: 24892720.

Lab Information

Francoise Coustry, PhD - Research Scientist

(713) 500-5829 Francoise.Coustry@uth.tmc.edu

 

Joanna Espinosa - Research Technician I

(713) 500-6438 Joanna.C.Espinosa@uth.tmc.edu

 

Mohammad Hossain - Research Assistant II

(713) 500-5786 Mohammad.G.Hossain@uth.tmc.edu

 

Lorena Maili, MS - Research Assistant II

(713) 500-6581 Lorena.Maili@uth.tmc.edu

 

Rosa Martinez - Clinical Research Coordinator

(713) 500-5498 Rosa.Martinez@uth.tmc.edu

 

Robert Plant - Research Assistant I

(713) 500-6581 Robert.E.Plant@uth.tmc.edu

 

Maria Elena Serna - Database Specialist

(713) 500-5785 Maria.E.Serna@uth.tmc.edu

 

Alka Veerisetty - Histology Technician II

(713) 500-5786 Alka.Veerisetty@uth.tmc.edu

 

Seenya Vincent - Research Technician I

(713) 500-6438 Seenya.Vincent@uth.tmc.edu

 

Qiuping Yuan, PhD - Research Associate

(713) 500-5788 Qiuping.Yuan@uth.tmc.edu