20 UT Physicians named as America’s ‘Top Doctors’

Willerson, 20 UT Physicians Named as America’s ‘Top Doctors’

The 6th edition of Castle Connolly Medical Ltd.‘s America’s Top Doctors selected 21 Medical School physicians in 12 of 25 board-certified medical specialties recognized by the American Board of Medical Specialties. The outstanding physicians listed in this newest edition of America’s Top Doctors represent the top one percent of U.S. physicians, as chosen by their peers.

This volume recognizes Dr. James T. Willerson, president of the UT Health Science Center at Houston, who is known both nationally and internationally as one of the nation’s top experts in cardiovascular disease.

Full-time Medical School faculty members listed in America’s Top Doctors include: James A. Ferrendelli, M.D., Ernesto Infante, M.D., James C. Grotta, M.D., and Jerry S. Wolinsky, M.D., for neurology; Jon E. Tyson, M.D., for neonatal-perinatal medicine; Richard W. Smalling, M.D., Ph.D., for interventional cardiology; Frank C. Arnett Jr., M.D., and Maureen Mayes, M.D., for rheumatology.  Also included are exceptional physicians Barry D. Kahan, M.D., Ph.D., for surgery; Hazim J. Safi, M.D., for thoracic surgery; K. Lance Gould, M.D., and David McPherson, M.D., for cardiovascular disease; Hope Northrup, M.D., for clinical genetics; J. Marc Rhoads, M.D.,for pediatric gastroenterology; Carmel Dyer, M.D., for geriatric medicine and William K. Hoots, M.D., for pediatric hematology-oncology.

Others listed in America’s Top Doctors are:Susan E. Denson, M.D., Medical School professor of surgery for neonatal-perinatal medicine;clinical professor and department chairman William H. Donovan, M.D., and clinical associate professor and vice chairman Gerard Francisco, M.D., for physical medicine and rehabilitation.  Donovan also is medical director at Memorial Hermann | TIRR, where Francisco is co-director of the brain injury and stroke program.  Another member of America’s Top Doctors is O. H. “Bud” Frazier, M.D., clinical professor, who also holds an appointment with the Texas Heart Institute at St. Luke’s Episcopal Hospital.

Only physicians nominated and reviewed by their medical peers are eligible for recognition in America’s Top Doctors.  About 230,000 doctors were surveyed before evaluators completed a final list of 5,000 top specialists based on each individual’s rigorous medical training, extensive clinical knowledge and experience, and further training in some specialties. These outstanding physicians not only meet these stringent general criteria, but also possess unique skills in their field.

“We are very proud of these and the many other outstanding doctors at McGovern Medical School who are all committed to excellence,” Willerson said. “To be recognized by one’s peers speaks to the high quality of physician educators and scientists that we are fortunate to have at McGovern Medical School. For the people of Texas and Houston to have these fine doctors here to serve them is a real treasure.”

Most of the named faculty members hold physician appointments with the McGovern Medical School at Houston’s two primary teaching hospitals: Memorial Hermann – Texas Medical Center and the LBJ General Hospital in the Harris County Hospital District.