2021 Vascular Surgery Residency & Fellowship Graduation

June 21, 2021

We are pleased to announce the recent graduation of Joseph Besho, MD, Kate Peng, MD, and Mehmet Alagoz, MD,  from the vascular surgery training programs offered under the Department of Cardiothoracic & Vascular Surgery at McGovern Medical School at UTHealth in partnership with Memorial Hermann and Harris Health. Besho has completed his five-year training with the Integrated Vascular Surgery Residency Program. Peng is this year’s graduate of the two-year Vascular Surgery Fellowship, along with Alagoz who completed the two-year Advanced Aortic Surgery and Structural Heart Fellowship. Surrounded by colleagues and mentors, the graduates were celebrated with a dinner on Saturday, June 19th. In addition to acknowledging the graduates’ achievements, the department also recognized select faculty members and current residents and fellows during the annual end-of-the-year-awards.

Program Director’s Award for Excellence in Self-Directed Learning 2021: Tommasso Cambiaghi

VSITE High Score Award 2021: Kate Peng & Akiko Tanaka

Young Clinical Investigator of the Year: Akiko Tanaka

Resident Teaching Award 2021: Akiko Tanaka & Zain Al Rstum

Faculty Teaching Award: Naveed Saqib (vascular) & Robert Hetz (Cardiothoracic)

Congratulations to all award recipients, and to this year’s vascular surgery graduates.