2022 CV Surgery Residency & Fellowship Graduation Program

June 28, 2022

We are pleased to announce the recent graduation of Akiko Tanaka, MD, Holly Smith, MD, and Margaret Jackson, MD, from the vascular surgery and Adult Cardiac Surgery training programs offered under the Department of Cardiothoracic & Vascular Surgery at McGovern Medical School at UTHealth in partnership with Memorial Hermann and Harris Health. Tanaka completed her five-year training with the Integrated Vascular Surgery Residency Program. Dr. Jackson is this year’s graduate of the two-year Vascular Surgery Fellowship, along with Smith who completed the one-year Advanced Aortic Surgery and Structural Heart Fellowship. Surrounded by colleagues and mentors, the graduates were celebrated with a dinner on Saturday, June 4th. In addition to acknowledging the graduates’ achievements, the department also recognized select faculty members and current residents and fellows during the annual end-of-the-year-awards.

Program Director’s Award for Excellence in Self-Directed Learning: Mitchell George

VSITE High Score Award 2021: Tommaso Cambiaghi

Young Clinical Investigator of the Year: Regina Husman

Resident/Fellow Teaching Award: Tommaso Cambiaghi & Holly Smith

Faculty Teaching Award: Naveed Saqib & S. Keisin Wang (vascular) | Zainulabdeen Al Rstum & Robert Hetz (Cardiothoracic)

Director’s Award for Excellence in Patient Care: Margaret Jackson, Akiko Tanaka & Michael Lopez

Congratulations to all award recipients, and to this year’s vascular surgery graduates.

-Pearl Adams