Dr. William Yao Receives 2022 AAO-HNS Honor Award

May 8, 2023

William Yao, MDRhinologist William C. Yao, MD, associate professor in the Department of Otorhinolaryngology at McGovern Medical School at UTHealth Houston, has received a 2022 Honor Award from the American Academy of Otorhinolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery. The Honor Award is the first recognition a member can obtain from the academy based on quantity, variety, and longevity of volunteer service.

Earlier in his practice, Dr. Yao was elected secretary of the academy’s Young Physician Section and served from 2017 to 2018. He is active in the AAO-HNS, serving on the Rhinology and Allergy Education Committee from 2018 to the present. In addition, he has developed and given seminars and instructional courses presented at the academy’s annual meetings. He has also served as a member of the Rhinology and Paranasal Sinus Committee and Skull Base Surgery Committee.

Dr. Yao is otorhinolaryngology residency program director and co-director of the UTHealth Houston Rhinology and Skull Base Fellowship. A Phi Beta Kappa graduate of the University of California, Los Angeles, Dr. Yao received his medical degree at the University of Colorado Health Science Center School of Medicine, where he was inducted into Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society in 2008. He completed residency training at Baylor College of Medicine, where he was recognized with the 2014 Resident Teaching Award. He subsequently completed a fellowship in rhinology and anterior skull base surgery at Massachusetts Eye and Ear Infirmary/Harvard Medical School.

Fluent in English and Japanese, Dr. Yao has a strong interest in surgical technique and residency education, including the development of teaching instruments. He is committed to delivering leading-edge medical and surgical management for chronic rhinosinusitis and paranasal sinus diseases, and performs advanced endoscopic sinus surgery, revision sinus surgery, and skull base and orbital surgery.

Dr. Yao has been recognized with the Dean’s Teaching Excellence Award from McGovern Medical School numerous times and Faculty Member of the Year in the Department of Otorhinolaryngology on multiple occasions. He has been named a Houstonia magazine Top Doctor and Castle Connolly Top Doctor on numerous occasions, as well as a Texas Super Doctor® since 2017.

Schedule an Appointment

Patients can schedule an appointment over the telephone (713-486-5000), by booking directly onto physician schedules online, and through MyUTHealth, our patient portal.