Three New Residents Join the Team in the Department of Otorhinolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery

August 4, 2023

Evan de Joya, MD; Salman Sayed Hasan, MD; Vivian Jin, MDMembers of the Otolaryngology Residency Class of 2028 at McGovern Medical School at UTHealth Houston have arrived in Houston from Bryan, TX, Miami, and Chicago. The department’s new residents are Evan de Joya, MD, from Wilmette, Illinois, who received his medical degree from the University of Miami Miller School of Medicine; Salman Sayed Hasan, MD, from Dallas, who graduated from Texas A&M Health Science Center College of Medicine; and Vivian Jin, MD, from Naperville, Illinois, a graduate of the University of Illinois College of Medicine.

“We are very pleased with our new resident class and excited to welcome these outstanding candidates to join our evolving and ever-improving residency program,” says William C. Yao, MD, associate professor of otorhinolaryngology and director of the otolaryngology residency program. “I want to thank every faculty member involved in reviewing the applications, as well as those who interviewed these candidates. I also want to thank our current residents, who planned several evenings hosting our applicants and entertained them during break sessions.”

The McGovern Medical School Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery Residency Training Program provides experience in the subspecialties of bronchoesophagology, facial plastic and reconstructive surgery, head and neck surgery, laryngology, maxillofacial trauma, otology and neuro-otology, pediatric otolaryngology, and rhinology as well as audiology and speech pathology. Over the course of their five years at the institution, residents have opportunities for both formal and informal educational experiences, with a graduated increase in responsibility for education and patient care in line with their demonstrated clinical skills.

In accordance with guidelines set by the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education, all trainees participate in research on an annual basis, including three months of dedicated research time during which they develop a significant project. Clinical rotations occur in a variety of settings, including the department’s state-of-the-art outpatient office at Memorial Hermann Medical Plaza, local surgery centers, and major hospitals including Memorial Hermann-Texas Medical Center, a quaternary referral center and Level 1 trauma center; Lyndon B. Johnson Hospital, part of the Harris Health System; The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center; and Houston Methodist Hospital.

Schedule an Appointment

Patients can schedule an appointment over the telephone (713-486-5000), by booking directly onto physician schedules online, and through MyUTHealth, our patient portal.