Department of Otorhinolaryngology - Head and Neck Surgery

McGovern Medical School

Two ORL Faculty Members Receive Dean’s Teaching Excellence Award

SF by-lineSamer Fakhri, MD, FACS, FRCS(C), an otorhinolaryngologist affiliated with Memorial Hermann-Texas Medical Center and an associate professor, vice chair and residency program director in the Department of Otorhinolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery at McGovern Medical School, has been recognized with the medical school’s Dean’s Teaching Excellence Award for the eighth time.


RK by-lineAlso recognized in the 2012-2013 academic year was otorhinolaryngologist Ron Karni, MD, an assistant professor in the department.



The Dean’s Teaching Excellence Award is an annual recognition to faculty for their outstanding teaching performance. The award is presented to faculty and volunteers who have exhibited outstanding teaching, incited intellectual curiosity in their students and engaged them in the learning process, helped them develop lifelong skills or otherwise served with distinction.

Subscribe to our newsletters

ORL Update UT ORL Update, our first on-line departmental newsletter, summarizes current topics in otorhinolaryngology. The newsletter’s target audience includes both physicians and other healthcare providers, although subscriptions are not limited to members of these groups.

ORL Notes ORL Notes, our second on-line departmental newsletter, provides information about developments in the Department. The newsletter’s target audience includes physicians and healthcare professionals as well as patients and members of the general public.

To subscribe, please fill in your contact information and select the newsletter(s) you would like to receive. Of course, you may opt out of any of the newsletters at any time.