May 8, 2023

UT Physicians Multispecialty – The Heights Named a Foster Care Center of Excellence

UT Physicians Multispecialty – The Heights, has been named a Foster Care Center of Excellence by Superior HealthPlan — the ninth provider in Texas to receive the designation and the second in Houston. The clinic earned the distinction for providing…

October 3, 2022

In Memoriam: Jan van Eys, MD, PhD

Jan van Eys, MD, PhD, former chair of the Medical School’s Department of Pediatrics, died Sept. 24, 2022. He was 93. Van Eys was born in the Netherlands and immigrated to the United States to attend graduate school at Vanderbilt,…

March 15, 2022

Sandra McKay joins Baker Institute’s new firearm safety program

Sandra McKay, MD, associate professor in the Department of Pediatrics, has joined Rice University’s Baker Institute for Public Policy as a nonresident fellow. McKay, whose career as a pediatrician has focused on child health advocacy, will work with the Center for Health…

January 4, 2022

Meyers Footprints Narrative chosen as NANN’s article of the year

Congratulations to Priscilla Meyers, MSN NNP-BC, whose Footprints: Stories from the NICU article was chosen as NANN’s article of the year. Grace Under Fire (Or Ice) details a NICU nurse’s experience during the Texas winter storm of February 2021:…

December 20, 2021

Neonatal-Perinatal Medicine Fellows 2022-2025

Neonatal-Perinatal Medicine Fellowship Match Day 2021 The Division of Neonatal-Perinatal Medicine is excited to welcome four incoming fellows. The following lists each incoming NPM fellow, and the location of their residency program:   Frank Abene, DO Pediatric Residency: McGovern Medical…

December 7, 2021

Henson, Singletary recognized by UT System Board of Regents for excellence in teaching

Two UTHealth Houston educators have been awarded the prestigious Regents Outstanding Teaching Award. Harold Alonso Henson, RDH, PhD, and Claire Narvaez Singletary, MS, CGC, were among the 14 recipients of The University of Texas System Board of Regents’ Outstanding Teaching…

December 6, 2021

Hormann appointed vice dean, educational programs

Following a national search, Executive Dean ad interim Richard Andrassy, MD, has named Mark Hormann, MD, vice dean for Educational Programs for McGovern Medical School at UTHealth, effective Jan. 1, 2022. Hormann is currently professor of pediatrics and assistant dean for clinical education…

November 17, 2021

Pediatric Pulmonology Leadership Announcement

I am pleased to let you all know that I am appointing Ricardo Mosquera, MD as Chief of the Division of Pediatric Pulmonology, Allergy/Immunology and Sleep Medicine effective January 1, 2022. Dr. Mosquera completed his medical education at the Univeraity…

September 9, 2021

Meyers named Pediatrics Director of Advanced Care Providers

The McGovern Medical School Department of Pediatrics has named Priscilla Meyers, MSN, APRN, NNP-BC, as its director of Advanced Care Providers (ACP). “I am honored to have been chosen to help support and lead the Advanced Care Providers for the department,” Meyers said….

July 21, 2021

Von Allmen named chief of Pediatric Neurology

The Department of Pediatrics has named Gretchen Von Allmen, MD, professor and director of the Pediatric Epilepsy Program, as the permanent division chief of Pediatric Neurology. Von Allmen has served as the interim chief since October 2020, succeeding Ian Butler, MD. “I am honored…