May 24, 2023

UTHealth Houston receives two awards for continuing research in neonatal care and women’s health

Prestigious grants totaling more than $4 million from the National Institute of Child Health and Human Development (NICHD) Maternal-Fetal Medicine Units Network (MFMU) and the NICHD Neonatal Research Network (NRN) have been awarded to UTHealth Houston. McGovern Medical School at UTHealth Houston is the…

March 22, 2023

Barratt wins Distinguished Faculty Award in Professionalism

The McGovern Medical School Office of Professionalism has named Michelle S. Barratt, MD, MPH, professor in the Department of Pediatrics, the 2023 winner of the John P. and Kathrine G. McGovern Distinguished Faculty Award in Professionalism Education. “It is a great honor…

January 11, 2023

Khan Receives Founder’s Award from Southern Society of Pediatric Research

Congratulations to Dr. Amir Khan, who has been chosen for the 2023 Southern Society for Pediatric Research Founder’s Award. This award recognizes a member of the Southern Society for Pediatric Research (SSPR) who has made significant contributions to children’s health…

January 10, 2023

Four faculty win UT STARs Awards

Congratulations to Dr. Anthony Flores recipient of the UT System Translational STARs Award! Four members of the McGovern Medical School Faculty, Anthony Flores, MD, PhD, Callie Kwartler, PhD, Hui-Wen Lo, PhD, and Xiaotian Zhang, PhD, have earned The University of Texas System’s STARs Awards….

December 5, 2022

Congratulations to Mary Senkel for winning the Department of Pediatrics’ Advanced Care Provider Excellence Award!

Mary Senkel is selected for this years Advanced Care Provider (ACP) Excellence Award. The ACP Excellence Award honors the outstanding contributions made by an Advanced Care Provider (ACP) through exemplary practice, leadership, service, and education by meeting the following criteria:…

July 7, 2022

24 faculty named 2022 Champions of Clinical Learning Environment

Congratulations Dr. Guardiola, Dr. Omoruyi, and Dr. Yeragi! In an effort to continue to enhance professionalism and encourage a positive learning environment, Directors of Learning Environment Vineeth John, MD, MBA, and John Riggs, MD, have announced 24 McGovern Medical School…

May 26, 2022

Omoruyi wins APA teaching award

The Academic Pediatric Association has named Emma Omoruyi, MD, MPH, associate professor in the Department of Pediatrics, as the 2022 winner of the Teaching Award for Mid-Career Faculty. The Teaching Award for Mid-Career Faculty recognizes excellence in teaching among APA members. Excellence is…

May 18, 2022

Tran research wins multiple research awards

Recent research from Thu Tran, DO, neonatal-perinatal fellow, PGY-6, in the Department of Pediatrics, has garnered a pair of awards from the Southern Society for Pediatric Research and the Pediatric Academic Society. Tran was honored with the Southern Society for Pediatric Research…

May 10, 2022

National Nurses Week: 6 UTHealth Houston nurses honored at 2022 ‘Salute to Nurses’ luncheon

  Six practicing and aspiring nurses with UTHealth Houston were honored Wednesday, May 4, at the 2022 “Salute to Nurses” luncheon, hosted by the Houston Chronicle. Traditionally held during National Nurses Week, the annual event aims to recognize the most dedicated nurses…

May 6, 2022

2022 Dean’s Excellence in Teaching

Congratulations to the 2022 winners of the Dean’s Teaching Excellence Awards! May is designated as teaching excellence month for McGovern Medical School. Pediatrics Simi Abraham, MD Sheikh Ahmed, MBBS Roukaya Al Hammoud, MD Chiamaka Aneji, MBBS Myla Asfaq, MS Rebecca…