December 7, 2021

Henson, Singletary recognized by UT System Board of Regents for excellence in teaching

Two UTHealth Houston educators have been awarded the prestigious Regents Outstanding Teaching Award. Harold Alonso Henson, RDH, PhD, and Claire Narvaez Singletary, MS, CGC, were among the 14 recipients of The University of Texas System Board of Regents’ Outstanding Teaching…

December 2, 2021

Advanced Care Provider Excellence Award

In celebration of Nurse Practitioner Week, Nov. 7-13, Tomika Harris, RN, DNP, CPNP, from the UT Physicians High Risk Children’s Clinic received the inaugural Advanced Care Provider (ACP) Excellence Award from the Department of Pediatrics. The ACP Excellence Award honors…

November 16, 2021

Escobar named hemophilia physician of the year

Miguel A. Escobar, MD, professor in the Department of Pediatrics and Internal Medicine, is the winner of Physician of the Year 2021 from the National Hemophilia Foundation. Escobar, who also serves as medical director of the Gulf States Hemophilia and Thrombophilia Center, recently…

October 8, 2021

Congratulations to Dr. Ian Butler – Awardee for Excellence in Clinical Service

Original story by Faith Harper, UTHealth news, October 8, 2021 Faculty members who demonstrate a longstanding excellence in the areas of teaching, research, and clinical care have received the top honor awarded by UTHealth President Giuseppe N. Colasurdo, MD, Alkek-Williams…

August 26, 2021

Wang wins collaborative research award

Jun Wang, PhD, associate professor in the Department of Pediatrics, is the winner of the 2021 John S. Dunn Collaborative Research Award, presented by the Gulf Coast Consortia. Wang, and teammate Xiaolong Jiang, PhD, assistant professor of neuroscience at Baylor…

June 17, 2021

2021 Champions of Clinical Learning Environment

Congratulations! Selected for upholding aspects of a positive and vibrant learning environment, the Champions of Clinical Learning Environment create opportunities to promote and encourage professionalism amongst their colleagues. Pedro Mancias, MD Professor Emma Omoruyi, MD, MPH Associate Professor Kimberly Smith,…

May 20, 2021

2021 Dean’s Excellence in Teaching

Congratulations to the 2021 winners of the Dean’s Teaching Excellence Awards! May is designated as teaching excellence month for McGovern Medical School. Pediatrics Simi Abraham, MD Chiamaka Aneji, MBBS Vidhya Annavajjhala, MD Myla Ashfaq, MS Cynthia Bell Rebecca Beyda, MD…

April 2, 2021

Dr. Ellsworth named the 2020 Physician of the Year for Children’s Memorial Hermann Hospital

Congratulations to Dr. Misti Ellsworth, the 2020 Physician of the Year for Children’s Memorial Hermann Hospital. The Memorial Hermann Physician of the Year award is an employee-driven initiative honoring physicians whose actions and leadership exemplify the Memorial Hermann culture. Dr….

November 19, 2020

Four earn Women’s Faculty Forum Excellence Awards

The Women’s Faculty Forum (WFF) will present the 2020 Excellence Awards to four McGovern Medical School faculty members at a virtual presentation from 4:30-6 p.m., Dec. 2, via WebEx. The event code to join the presentation is 120 199 5152,…

June 23, 2020

Dr. Deborah Brown awarded Children’s Memorial Hermann Physician of the Year 2019

We are delighted to announce that Dr. Deborah Brown, Pediatric Hematology, has been recognized with the Children’s Memorial Hermann Hospital Physician of the Year Award. Dr. Brown was recognized for her commitment to excellence for her patients and her consistent…