December 5, 2022

ISAW: Infantile Spasms Awareness Week Dec. 1-7, 2022

December 1-7 is #infantilespasms awareness week. Infantile spasms are often overlooked or misdiagnosed. Educate yourself on the signs and symptoms at and join the conversation by using #ISAW2022  

November 16, 2022

National Injury Prevention Day – November 18, 2022

On Friday, November 18, 2022, McGovern Medical School at UTHealth Houston, along with Memorial Hermann-Texas Medical Center and Children’s Memorial Hermann Hospital, will shine a green light to raise awareness around childhood injury prevention. Below are photos of our activities…

October 12, 2022

Safe Sleep and SIDS Awareness Month: Do’s and Don’ts for Sleeping Infants

October is Safe Sleep and SIDS Awareness Month. Each year, there are about 3,400 sudden unexpected infant deaths in the U.S., according to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. In 2020, approximately 41% of these deaths were due to sudden…

July 18, 2022

Gale to present Silverman Lectureship July 22

The Center for Clinical Research and Evidence-Based Medicine and the Department of Pediatrics will host the 2022 William Silverman Lectureship featuring Chris Gale, MBBS, MSc, PhD. This is part of our effort to support learning healthcare at UTHealth Houston. Gale…

July 7, 2022

24 faculty named 2022 Champions of Clinical Learning Environment

Congratulations Dr. Guardiola, Dr. Omoruyi, and Dr. Yeragi! In an effort to continue to enhance professionalism and encourage a positive learning environment, Directors of Learning Environment Vineeth John, MD, MBA, and John Riggs, MD, have announced 24 McGovern Medical School…

May 26, 2022

Omoruyi wins APA teaching award

The Academic Pediatric Association has named Emma Omoruyi, MD, MPH, associate professor in the Department of Pediatrics, as the 2022 winner of the Teaching Award for Mid-Career Faculty. The Teaching Award for Mid-Career Faculty recognizes excellence in teaching among APA members. Excellence is…

May 6, 2022

2022 Dean’s Excellence in Teaching

Congratulations to the 2022 winners of the Dean’s Teaching Excellence Awards! May is designated as teaching excellence month for McGovern Medical School. Pediatrics Simi Abraham, MD Sheikh Ahmed, MBBS Roukaya Al Hammoud, MD Chiamaka Aneji, MBBS Myla Asfaq, MS Rebecca…

March 14, 2022

CLI receives Institute of Education Sciences grant

A new grant for the Children’s Learning Institute will help determine how to support teachers and parents of young children experiencing language difficulties. The Children’s Learning Institute (CLI) at McGovern Medical School has received a new grant from the Institute of Education…

February 3, 2022

Koshy wins Distinguished Faculty Award in Professionalism Education

The McGovern Medical School Office of Professionalism has named Anson Koshy, MD, associate professor in the McGovern Center for Humanities and Ethics, and the Department of Pediatrics, as the inaugural winner of the John P. and Kathrine G. McGovern Distinguished…

December 20, 2021

Neonatal-Perinatal Medicine Fellows 2022-2025

Neonatal-Perinatal Medicine Fellowship Match Day 2021 The Division of Neonatal-Perinatal Medicine is excited to welcome four incoming fellows. The following lists each incoming NPM fellow, and the location of their residency program:   Frank Abene, DO Pediatric Residency: McGovern Medical…