November 12, 2020

UTHealth partners with local schools to provide timely mental health care virtually to children

Elizabeth Newlin, MD, explains how UTHealth is partnering up with local schools to provide mental health care to children through the TCHATT program. Read more at

January 9, 2020

Selvaraj wins inaugural award

Sudhakar Selvaraj, MD, PhD, received the inaugural early career award from the International Society for Affective Disorders at a November conference in London, United Kingdom. The award is presented on a nomination basis to an individual who has made a significant impact…

October 3, 2019

Patients benefit from specialized treatment at trauma center

Leslie K. Taylor, PhD, talks about services offered at the UTHealth Trauma and Resilience Center.

September 24, 2019

2019 World Mental Health Day

Every 40 seconds, someone loses their life to suicide. October 10 is World Mental Health Day. Join us for “40 seconds of action” to raise awareness of the scale of suicide around the world and the role that each of…

August 29, 2019

McGovern Medical School celebrates 50 years

Established in June 1969 by the Texas Legislature, McGovern Medical School celebrates its golden anniversary as it turns 50 with the beginning of the 2020 fiscal year. The yearlong celebration kicks off Tuesday, Sept. 17 with an Ice Cream Social,…

July 12, 2019

Findley earns Junior Faculty Teaching Award

J. Chase Findley, MD, assistant professor of psychiatry and behavioral sciences received the Devneil Vaidya Junior Faculty Teaching Award from the Association of Directors of Medical Student Education in Psychiatry (ADMSEP) in June. The Devneil Vaidya Award recognizes a promising,…

July 12, 2019

Dr. Weaver goes to Washington

  Helping to set the national agenda on addiction medicine, Michael Weaver, MD, DFASAM, professor of psychiatry, recently returned home from the White Houses’ Office of National Drug Control Policy (ONDCP). Weaver was invited by the American College of Academic Addiction Medicine…

July 12, 2019

Riggs, John appointed as directors of learning environment

In order to continue the development of a culture of teaching and learning rooted in respect and mutual dignity for all, McGovern Medical School has appointed John Riggs, MD, and Vineeth John, MD, MBA to a new position of directors…

June 27, 2019

Construction underway on UTHealth Continuum of Care Campus for Behavioral Health

Newest building will make UTHealth mental health care campus largest academic psychiatric hospital in country UTHealth leaders and government officials break ground on the UTHealth Continuum of Care Campus for Behavioral Health. (Photo credit: Dwight Andrews) The new 240-bed facility…

June 6, 2019

John P. McGovern Award – J. Chase Findley, MD

J. Chase Findley, MD, assistant professor and director of medical student education in the Department of Psychiatry & Behavioral Sciences, is the recipient of the 2019 John P. McGovern Award as the exceptional clinical teacher. The John P. McGovern Award is…