Parchem wins SMFM Scholarship Award

The Foundation for Society for Maternal-Fetal Medicine (SMFM) and the American Association of Obstetricians and Gynecologists Foundation (AAOGF) selected Jacqueline Parchem, M.D., assistant professor in the Department of Obstetrics, Gynecology and Reproductive Sciences, for the 2019-22 Foundation for SMFM/AAOGF Scholarship Award for her project “Modulation of Neural Tube Development by Amniotic Fluid Exosomes.”

Mark Chassay, M.D., '92, (left) and Frank J. Domino, M.D., '88 (right) were the guests of honor at alumni events last weekend after being named Distinguished Alumnus Award winners. Chassay accepts Distinguished Alumnus Award

Faculty, medical students, friends, and family members gathered together Oct. 12 to celebrate the career and accomplishments of Mark Chassay, M.D., ’92, who accepted his Distinguished Alumnus Award during a special event at Third Coast.

Chassay, Domino to be honored as distinguished alumni

Two outstanding alumni of McGovern Medical School will be honored at a special event Friday Oct. 19 at Third Coast.

American Association of Physicists in Medicine honors Wagner with achievement award

The American Association of Physicists in Medicine (AAPM) selected Dr. Louis K. Wagner, staff scientist in the Department of Radiology at McGovern Medical School, as the recipient of the Marvin M.D. Williams Professional Achievement Award for his career in medical physics.

Gus Krucke Outstanding Teacher Award with Dean Stoll John P. McGovern Award – Gus Krucke, MD

Dr. Gus W. Krucke, associate professor of General Internal Medicine, is the winner of the 2018 John P. McGovern Award as the exceptional clinical teacher, a distinction shared this year with Dr. Duraisamy Balaguru, associate professor in the Department of Pediatrics.

Salazar named McGovern Distinguished Chair

An accomplished investigator involved in numerous clinical trials evaluating novel therapies to treat the most complex congenital heart defects has been appointed holder of the John P. and Kathrine G. McGovern Distinguished Chair.

University of Iowa honors Dean Stoll

Dean Barbara J. Stoll is the 2017 recipient of the Frank H. Morriss, Jr. Leadership Award from the University of Iowa School of Medicine.

Herbert L. and Margaret W. DuPont Master Clinical Teaching Award: J. Chase Findley, M.D.

J. Chase Findley, M.D., associate professor and director of medical student education in the Department of Psychiatry & Behavioral Sciences, is the recipient of the 2018 Herbert L. and Margaret W. DuPont Master Clinical Teaching Award.

Benjy F. Brooks, M.D., Outstanding Clinical Faculty Award: Sasha D. Adams, M.D.

Sasha D. Adams, M.D., assistant professor in the Department of Surgery, is this year’s recipient of the Benjy F. Brooks, M.D., Outstanding Clinical Faculty Award.

Dean’s Teaching Excellence Awards

Congratulations to this year’s winners of the Dean’s Teaching Excellence Awards! May is designated as teaching excellence month for McGovern Medical School and all winners of teaching awards will be honored May 15 in the Fifth Floor Gallery.