Dr. Philip Rascoe Awarded James E. Thompson Best Paper by a New Member at Texas Surgical Society Meeting

Congratulations to Philip Rascoe, MD, associate professor and chief of thoracic surgery at UT Health Science Center at Houston, McGovern Medical School for being the recipient of the James E. Thompson award for best paper by a

new member at the Texas Surgical Society (TSS) Meeting.  The TSS spring meeting was held on April 5th to 7th in McAllen, Texas. Dr. Rascoe presented on “Catheter ablation for Atrial Fibrillation causing Esophageal Injury”.  This year’s spring semi-annual meeting marked the 204th meeting and consisted of the induction of three University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston CV Surgeons including Dr. Rascoe and his colleagues, cardiac surgeon, Tom C. Nguyen, MD, and vascular surgeon Kristofer Charlton-Ouw, MD.

TSS was founded in 1915 by Dr. James Thompson, where the award gets its namesake. During the society’s infancy years, Dr. Thompson states, “The object of the Society, ‘the advancement of the science of surgery’ must never be absent from our thoughts. Personal advancement and petty politics must have no place in our councils. Good work for the love of good work must be our motto. IF we reach toward these ideals and retain supreme faith in our possibilities and powers, nothing can prevent our growth into a dignified learned Society that will be a power for good in our own state and an object of admiration to our neighbors.”