Criteria and Process Selection

Criteria Process

All required clinical education for entry into Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical School (ACGME)-accredited Sports Medicine Fellowship Program must be completed in

  • an ACGME-accredited Family Medicine Residency Program, or
  • an Royal College of Physicians & Surgeons of Canada (RCPSC)-accredited or
  • an College of Family Physicians of Canada (CFPC)-accredited Family Medicine Residency Program located in Canada.

Fellow applicants shall be reviewed and accepted on the following basis:

  • Integrity 
  • Performance in Medical School and Residency 
  • Commitment to Sports Medicine 
  • Academic Credentials 

Preparedness for the Specialty of Sports Medicine 

  • Important intangibles which are fundamental to the selection process include: 
  • Leadership
  • Work Ethic 
  • Communication Skills 
  • Enthusiasm 
  • Motivation 

Residency Application Service (ERAS) and National Resident Matching Program (NRMP) and comply with all required documentation. 

All applications reviewed. Applicants must have passed each USMLE step within three attempts. All applicants must be boardeligible or board certified on the first day of fellowship. Foreign medical graduates must be ECFMG certified prior to ranking. We do not take H-1B visa. We do accept ECFMG sponsored J-1 clinical visa. 

ACGME ID: 1274812166  

Selection Process

Faculty members of the Fellowship Selection Committee will interview virtually and complete an Applicant Evaluation Form for each applicant. Interviewees will be ranked by the selection committee.

The Sports Medicine Fellowship Program does not discriminate with regard to age, color, disability, national origin, race, religion, sex, or veteran status.

Entering the Program

All Fellows who are appointed to the UTHealth Houston Sports Medicine Fellowship Program should have completed an ACGME accredited residency in Family Medicine. Additionally, all appointed fellows are required to have the following prior to starting: 

  1. Unrestricted, current Texas Medical License or Texas Physician-in-Training license 
  2. Current ACLS/BLS Certification 
  3. Current PALS Certification
  4. DEA License