Jordan Lazenby wins inaugural McGovern Medical School teaching competition

By Angela Gomez, McGovern Center for Humanities and Ethics
December 8, 2022

On December 7, the inaugural McGovern Medical School Teaching Competition was held, with 8 medical students vying for the Gary C. Rosenfeld Award for Excellence in Teaching.

A panel of three judges—John Hancock, MA, MB, BChir, PhD, ScD, Executive Dean of McGovern Medical School; LaTanya J. Love, MD, Dean of Education of McGovern Medical School and Executive Vice President for Student Affairs at UTHealth Houston; and Nathan Carlin, PhD, Karff Chair, Director, and Professor of the McGovern Center—selected first-year medical student Jordan Lazenby as the winner.

Mentored by McGovern Center Associate Director and Associate Professor Rebecca Lunstroth, JD, MA, Lazenby presented “It’s Up to Us: Physicians Are Now Responsible for Improving Their Patient’s Health Literacy.”

Congratulations to Jordan for your excellence in teaching!

Watch and learn more about the teaching competition: