Student Resources

We encourage our students to publish their work and research. Medical humanities students have published reflections written during third-year journaling, collaborated on essays with faculty, and submitted opinion pieces to various publications. Those interested in publishing may want to consider some of these medical student publication venues.

Publication Venue Website
“A Piece of My Mind” in JAMA https://jamanetwork.com/journals/jama/pages/instructions-for-authors#SecAPieceofMyMind
“The Arts and Medicine” in JAMA https://jamanetwork.com/journals/jama/pages/instructions-for-authors#SecArtsMedicine
AAMC’s Aspiring Docs Diaries https://aspiringdocsdiaries.org/
Abaton https://www.dmu.edu/abaton/
American Journal of Undergraduate Research http://www.ajuronline.org/
American Medical Student Research Journal https://www.amsrj.org/index.php?journal=amsrj
Ars Medica https://ars-medica.ca/index.php/journal/about
Atrium https://www.bioethics.northwestern.edu/about/atrium/index.html
Bellevue Literary Review https://blreview.org/
Blood and Thunder: Musings on the Art of Medicine https://www.ouhsc.edu/bloodandthunder/
Body Electric https://chicago.medicine.uic.edu/portfolio-items/body-electric-borticaria-sta-maria-del-fiat/
British Medical Journal, Medical Humanities Blog https://blogs.bmj.com/medical-humanities/posts-page
Catalyst https://ricecatalyst.org/
Cell 2 Soul https://cell2soul.typepad.com/
Configurations https://www.press.jhu.edu/journals/configurations/
Dermanities http://ojcpcd.com/dermanities/
Einstein Journal of Biology and Medicine https://einsteinmed.org/publications/einstein-journal-biology-medicine/
Ether Arts https://medicine.osu.edu/student-resources/student-organizations/humanism-in-medicine
Global-Pulse https://www.globalpulsejournal.com/
Harvard Medical Student Review https://hmsreview.org/
Harvard Public Health Review https://harvardpublichealthreview.org/
HEAL: Humanism Evolving through Arts and Literature https://med.fsu.edu/heal/home
Health Care: The Journal of Delivery Science and Innovation https://www.journals.elsevier.com/healthcare-the-journal-of-delivery-science-and-innovation
Hektoen International https://hekint.org/submission-instructions/
Hospital Drive http://hospitaldrive.org/submission-guidelines/
Implementation Science https://implementationscience.biomedcentral.com/
in-House https://in-housestaff.org/
International Journal of Medical Students https://www.ijms.info/index.php/IJMS
in-Training https://in-training.org/
Journal of American Geriatrics Society https://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/journal/15325415
Journal of Art and Aesthetics in Nursing and Health Sciences https://jaanhs.org/for-authors/
Journal of General Internal Medicine, Medical Humanities Section https://www.sgim.org/web-only/medical-humanities
Journal of Humanities in Rehabilitation https://www.jhrehab.org
Journal of Medical Humanities https://link.springer.com/journal/10912
Journal of Palliative Medicine, Personal Reflection Section https://home.liebertpub.com/publications/journal-of-palliative-medicine/41/for-authors
Journal of Young Investigators https://www.jyi.org/
KevinMD.com https://www.kevinmd.com/blog/
Leaflet http://leaflet-ejournal.org
Literary AMWA https://www.amwa-doc.org/literary-amwa/
Literature and Medicine https://www.press.jhu.edu/journals/literature-and-medicine/author-guidelines
Litmed https://medhum.med.nyu.edu/magazine/
Medical Muse https://hsc.unm.edu/medmuse/
Medical Science Educator https://link.springer.com/journal/40670
Medical Student Research Journal https://msrj.chm.msu.edu/
Narrative Inquiry in Bioethics https://nibjournal.org/
Neurology http://n.neurology.org/
Pediatrics, Section on Pediatric Trainees https://services.aap.org/en/community/aap-sections/pediatric-trainees/ 
Penn Bioethics Journal https://bioethicsjournal.com/
Perspectives in Biology and Medicine https://www.press.jhu.edu/journals/perspectives-biology-and-medicine
Please See Me http://www.pleaseseeme.com
PLOS One https://journals.plos.org/plosone/
Pulse: Voices from the Heart of Medicine https://pulsevoices.org/
Reflective MedEd https://reflectivemeded.org/
Reflexion: The Literary and Fine Arts Journal https://www.ps.columbia.edu/education/academic-programs/md-program/md-student-resources/office-student-affairs/p-s-club-5
Student BMJ https://student.bmj.com/student/student-bmj.html
Survive & Thrive https://repository.stcloudstate.edu/survive_thrive/styleguide.html
Synapsis: A Health Humanities Journal https://medicalhealthhumanities.com/
The Compass https://www.mayoclinicproceedings.org/content/compass
The Examined Life Journal http://theexaminedlifejournal.com/about-the-journal/
The Healing Muse https://www.upstate.edu/bioethics/thehealingmuse/guidelines.php
The Human Factor https://med.umkc.edu/humanities/somhb/human-factor
The Human Touch Journal https://www.cuanschutz.edu/centers/bioethicshumanities/arts-and-humanities/pubs/the-human-touch
The Intima: A Journal of Narrative Medicine https://www.theintima.org/
The Journal of Narrative Visions https://narrativevisions.org/submissions/
The Lumen https://edmedlit.wordpress.com/lumen/submissions/
The Medical Student Press Journal http://www.themspress.org/journal/index.php/journal/issue/view/17
The New Physician Magazine https://www.amsa.org/publications/the-new-physician/
The Perch https://medicine.yale.edu/psychiatry/prch/the_perch/
The Permanente Journal http://www.thepermanentejournal.org
The Pharos http://www.alphaomegaalpha.org/contributors.html
The Student Doctor Network https://www.studentdoctor.net/
Voices in Bioethics http://www.voicesinbioethics.net
Wild Onions https://sites.psu.edu/wildonions/