McGovern Medical School named member of national depression center network

McGovern Medical School at The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston (UTHealth) has been named a Center of Excellence member of the National Network of Depression Centers (NNDC), a consortium of leading academic medical centers working to accelerate research, education and improved treatment options for people with depressive and bipolar illnesses.

Routt honored with 2017 Ashbel Smith Distinguished Alumni award

Dr. Milton L. “Chip” Routt, Jr., professor in the Department of Orthopedic Surgery at McGovern Medical School and Orthopedic Trauma Specialist at Memorial Hermann, said he was “more than overwhelmed” when he found out he received an Ashbel Smith Distinguished Alumnus (ASDA) Award alongside his peers at the University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston School of Medicine (UTMB) earlier this month.

Otorhinolaryngology CME course set Nov. 3-6

The Department of Otorhinolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery will host Lone Star Rhinology and Rhinoplasty Nov. 3-6 at Marriott Houston Medical Center and the UTHealth Clinical Skills Lab.

Perfusion student earns national scholarship

Perfusion trainee Alysha Williams is the recipient of this year’s Dan Zwada Memorial Scholarship. With the knowledge base that she has gained regarding the perfusion profession and her skillful writing, Williams explained her passion for perfusion in her submission.

Graduate student scholarships available

Dean Barbara J. Stoll is providing up to 10 scholarships to recognize MD Anderson Cancer Center UTHealth Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences students who have achieved distinction in biomedical research.

Dean’s Teaching Excellence Awards

Congratulations to this year’s winners of the Dean’s Teaching Excellence Awards! May is designated as teaching excellence month for McGovern Medical School and all winners of teaching awards were celebrated May 2 in the Fifth Floor Gallery.

Rosenfeld wins Career Educator Award

Gary Rosenfeld, Ph.D., professor of integrative biology and pharmacology and associate dean for educational programs, has received the 2017 Southern Group on Educational Affairs (SGEA) Career Educator Award, which is part of the Group on Educational Affairs (GEA) – a subset of the Association of American Medical Colleges (AAMC).

Swails named commencement speaker

Jennifer Swails, M.D., assistant professor of internal medicine, will be the commencement speaker of the McGovern Medical School’s graduating class of 2017.