Working on new treatments for stroke at UTHealth are Akihiko Urayama, Ph.D., and Louise McCullough, M.D., Ph.D. PHOTO CREDIT: Maricruz Kwon, UTHealth Neurologists awarded NIH grants to explore causes of brain bleeds, dementia

Researchers at McGovern Medical School have been awarded grants from the National Institutes of Health (NIH) to explore how the buildup of protein deposits in the brain can trigger dementia and stroke.

Dr. Sunil Sheth Sheth awarded American Academy of Neurology grant for stroke research

The American Academy of Neurology awarded Dr. Sunil Sheth, assistant professor in the Department of Neurology at McGovern Medical School, with the Clinician-Scientist Development Award in Interventional Neurology.

Jacqueline Parchem, MD Parchem receives grant for fetal development studies

AMAG Pharmaceuticals announced it has awarded Dr. Jacqueline Parchem, assistant professor in the Department of Obstetrics, Gynecology and Reproductive Sciences at McGovern Medical School, a grant to help further research in fetal development.

Working to enhance the care of scleroderma patients at UTHealth, from the left, are Sam Theodore, M.D., and Shervin Assassi, M.D. (PHOTO CREDIT: Maricruz Kwon, UTHealth) Assassi awarded $1.4 million to personalize scleroderma treatments

At McGovern Medical School, rheumatologist Shervin Assassi, M.D., is developing a blood test to determine which drugs work best for scleroderma patients with lung disease.

Man at psychologist Researchers seek to improve patient education through PCORI grant

Researchers from McGovern Medical School and the School of Public Health are partnering with the Harris Health System to advance patient and stakeholder engagement in research.  Dr. Ruby Benjamin-Garner, assistant professor in the Department of Internal Medicine, received the Eugene Washington Engagement Award from the Patient-Centered Outcomes Research Institute (PCORI) to provide research education to patients and other stakeholders within the Harris Health system and to establish a research advisory committee within the system, efforts that will facilitate patient and stakeholder engagement in research.

Zhiqiang An, Ph.D. (PHOTO CREDIT Maricruz Kwon, UTHealth) McGovern Medical School awarded grants for joint study with UT Health San Antonio

Scientists at The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston (UTHealth) and The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio (UT Health San Antonio) received $6 million in grants from the U.S. Department of Defense to expand studies of a therapeutic antibody, the two UT health institutions announced last month.

Angela Heads, Ph.D. UTHealth receives $2.5 million for HIV education and treatment for persons with substance use disorders

A $2.5 million federal grant will allow a multidisciplinary team at The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston (UTHealth) to provide prevention and treatment information about HIV, AIDS and sexually transmitted diseases to underserved individuals with substance abuse or mental disorders.

A new study involving Zebrafish could help researchers find new ways to fight degenerative retinal disease. Researchers utilize $1 million grant to study degenerative retinal disease

Researchers in the Ruiz Department of Ophthalmology & Visual Science are excited about utilizing a $1 million grant awarded by the William Stamps Farish Fund to help research how doctors can make progenitor cells in the retina regrow neurons that have been lost due to degenerative diseases that result in blindness.

Carlos A. Reyes Ortiz, M.D., Ph.D. Reyes Ortiz named US Fulbright Scholar

Dr. Carlos A. Reyes Ortiz, associate professor of Geriatric and Palliative Medicine in the Department of Internal Medicine, was named a US Fulbright Scholar for 2017-2018.

Consuelo Walss-Bass, Ph.D. UTHealth researchers receive $2.6 million to study gene-environment interactions in cocaine addiction

Studying the effect of environmental stressors on the development of cocaine use is the focus of a $2.6 million award from the National Institutes of Health (NIH) to researchers at McGovern Medical School.