Samer Fakhri, M.D., Receives AAO Foundation Honor Award

December 6, 2012

Internationally-recognized rhinologist Samer Fakhri, MD, FACS, FRCS(C), has received the American Academy of Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery Foundation (AAO-HNSF) 2012 Honor Award, presented at the AAO-HNSF’s annual meeting held in Washington, D.C. The award is given to academy members in recognition of contributions to the AAO and its foundation.

Dr. Fakhri, who is an associate professor and a residency program director at The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston (UTHealth) Medical School, was recognized in the August 2012 program supplement of Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery and at the opening ceremony of the AAO-NHSF 2012 annual meeting held in September. Over the years, he has contributed many instructional courses, and he is currently an active member of the Education Committee (Rhinology and Allergy) of the AAO.

Honor Awards are part of the academy’s system for recognizing meritorious service. Members receive honor points for participation in a variety of activities and leadership roles. It is the first award a member can receive, and only one such award is granted to an academy member during his or her lifetime.

“I am honored to receive such recognition,” Dr. Fakhri says. “The AAO-HNSF does important work, funding humanitarian missions and aid, developing evidence-based protocols for otolaryngology and building the future of the specialty through research programs and clinical trials. I’ve been a strong support and contributor to their goals for many years.”

Schedule an Appointment

Patients can schedule an appointment over the telephone (713-486-5000), by booking directly onto physician schedules online, and through MyUTHealth, our patient portal.