Congratulations to Our 2018 Graduating Residents

August 27, 2018

Uma Ramaswamy, MD, and Matthew A. Tyler, MDUma Ramaswamy, MD, and Matthew A. Tyler, MD, have completed their residencies in otorhinolaryngology at McGovern Medical School at UTHealth.  Dr. Ramaswamy has begun a pediatric otolaryngology fellowship at Baylor College of Medicine and Texas Children’s Hospital in Houston. Dr. Tyler has begun a rhinology fellowship at Stanford University in California.

“These two bright young people each chose McGovern Medical School not once, but twice, graduating from our medical school and staying for residency,” says Ronda Alexander, MD, residency program director, assistant professor of otorhinolaryngology, and director of the Texas Voice Performance Institute at UTHealth. “Dr. Tyler has been a strong contributor to our environment of scientific inquiry, with four published peer-reviewed articles and book chapters as a senior resident. Dr. Ramaswamy took on the challenge of addressing quality of care during her training. She championed the redesign of the format residents use to present and analyze cases during our monthly Quality Assurance Conference and also initiated a longitudinal study of our pediatric tracheostomy practices to find opportunities for better collaboration with pediatric intensivists. In addition, she presented a series of educational talks to the pediatric service to improve our mutual understanding of each other’s priorities in patient care.”

Schedule an Appointment

Patients can schedule an appointment over the telephone (713-486-5000), by booking directly onto physician schedules online, and through MyUTHealth, our patient portal.