Research Committee

Charges and Responsibilities

McGovern Medical School Research Committee serves in an advisory capacity to the Dean and Administrative Council on matters pertaining to research activities at the Medical School and makes recommendations for infrastructural improvements.  The Committee also screens and selects applicants for intramural and extramural grants/awards, provides oversight and management for the Dean’s Lecture Series, the Ernst Knobil Distinguished Lecture, the Cheves Smythe Distinguished Lecture, Interim Grant Assistance and Supplement Programs, and the Annual Medical School Research Retreat.

Current Member List

  • John H. Byrne, Ph.D.,  Associate Dean for Research – Chair Research Committee
  • Jon Tyson, M.D., Director, MS Center for Clinical Research & Evidence Based Medicine – Ex officio
  • John Hancock, M.B., B.Chir., Ph.D., Sc.D., Vice Dean for Basic Research, Executive Director, Institute of Molecular Medicine – Ex officio
  • Michael Blackburn, Ph.D., Executive Vice President, Chief Academic Officer and Dean, Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences – Ex officio


Term Expires 2018

  • Rebecca Berdeaux, Ph.D., Integrative Biology and Pharmacology
  • Carolyn Denton, Ph.D., Pediatrics
  • Erin Fox, Ph.D., Surgery
  • Syed S. Hashmi, M.D., Ph.D., Pediatrics
  • Rodney E. Kellems, Ph.D., Biochemistry & Molecular Biology
  • Christophe P. Ribelayga, Ph.D., Ophthalmology & Visual Sciences
  • Jair C. Soares, M.D., Psychiatry & Behavioral Sciences
  • Fabio Triolo, Ph.D., Pediatric Surgery


Term Expires 2019

  • Gustavo Ayala, M.D., Pathology & Laboratory Medicine
  • Nicholas De Lay, Ph.D., Microbiology & Molecular Genetics
  • Francisco Fuentes, M.D., Internal Medicine
  • Nischal Gautam, M.B.B.S., Anesthesiology
  • Absalon Gutierrez, Internal Medicine
  • Tao Lin, D.V.M., Pathology & Laboratory Medicine
  • John O’Brien, Ph.D., Ophthalmology & Visual Sciences
  • Nuray Yozbatiran, Ph.D., Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation
  • Siddharth Prakash, M.D., Ph.D., Internal Medicine

Term Expires 2020

  • John P. Hagan, Ph.D., Neurosurgery
  • Ilya Levental, Ph.D., Integrative Biology and Pharmacology
  • Naoki Nakayama, D.Sc., Institute of Molecular Medicine
  • Ba-Bie Teng, Ph.D., Institute of Molecular Medicine
  • Rodrigo Morales Loyola, Ph.D., Neurology
  • Alemayehu Gorfe Abebe, Ph.D., Integrative Biology & Pharmacology
  • Jessica Cardenas, Ph.D., Surgery
  • Eva Sevick, Ph.D., Institute of Molecular Medicine