Research Retreat

 7:30 a.m. – 8:00 a.m. Registration
 8:00 a.m. – 9:00 a.m. Graduate Student Education Committee Research Poster Competition, Session I and Breakfast (Willerson Discovery Hall)
 9:00 a.m. – 9:05 a.m. Welcome
John Byrne, Ph.D., Associate Dean for Research, Chair, Department of Neurobiology and Anatomy, UTHealth Medical School
9:05 a.m. – 9:15 a.m. Remarks from the Dean
Barbara J. Stoll, M.D.,  H. Wayne Hightower Distinguished Professor in the Medical Sciences and Dean McGovern Medical School
9:15 a.m. – 10:40 a.m. Breakthrough Discovery Symposium I
Chaired by Fabio Triolo, D.d.R., M.Phil., Ph.D., Associate Professor, Department of Pediatric Surgery, Program in Regenerative Medicine, Director, cGMP Facilities
“Inter-kingdom microbial interactions and new ideas for anti-infective development”

Danielle Garsin, Ph.D., Professor, Department of Microbiology and Molecular Genetics

“Circadian mechanism and intervention against metabolic disease and aging”

Jake Chen, Ph.D.,  Associate Professor, Department of Biochemistry & Molecular Biology

  “Ras and the plasma membrane: A complicated relationship

John Hancock, MA, MB, BChir, Ph.D., ScD, MRCP (UK), FRACP., Professor, Chair, Vice Dean for Basic Research, Executive Director Brown Foundation Institute of Molecular Medicine

10:40 a.m. – 10:55 a.m. Break
10:55 a.m. – 11:35 a.m. Postdoctoral Symposium
Chaired by John O’Brien, Ph.D., Department of Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences
Cancer and the heart – Oncometabolic dysregulation of cardiac metabolism

Anja Karlstaedt, M.D., Ph.D., 1st Place Winner of Dean’s Excellence Award for Postdocs, Department of Internal Medicine, Division of Cardiology

“AMPA receptor modulation by auxiliary proteins”

Sana Shaikh, Ph.D.,  2nd Place Winner of Dean’s Excellence Award for Postdocs, Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology

  “Heterogeneity of translational errors in single bacterial cells”

Yongqiang Fan, Ph.D., 3rd Place Winner of Dean’s Excellence Award for Postdocs, Department of Microbiology and Molecular Medicine

11:35 a.m. – 1:35 p.m. Graduate Student Education Committee Poster Session II and Lunch (Willerson Discovery Hall)
1:35 p.m. – 2:35 p.m. Keynote Address
Introduction by Naoki Nakayama, Ph.D.,
Associate Professor, Center for Stem Cell and Regenerative Medicine


Hiromitsu Nakauchi, M.D, Ph.D.,
Professor of Genetics
Institute of Stem Cell Biology and Regenerative Medicine
Stanford University
“Exploiting the developmental organ niche for interspecies organogenesis”

2:35 p.m. – 3:05 p.m. Break and Speaker Reception
3:05 p.m. – 4:25 p.m. Breakthrough Discovery Symposium II
Chaired by  Ba-Bie Teng, Ph.D.,  FAHA, 
Professor, Center for Human Genetics
. “Dissecting novel genetic elements in cancer from The Cancer Genome Atlas”

Leng Han, Ph.D., Assistant Professor, Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology

“Orchestrating oncogenesis: Ras and inflammation promote intratumoral cellular heterogeneity in pancreatic cancer” 

Jennifer Bailey, Ph.D., Assistant Professor,Department of Internal Medicine, Division of Gastroenterology

“Neural mechanisms balancing fear and reward-seeking responses”

Fabricio Do Monte, Ph.D., Assistant Professor, Department of Neurobiology and Anatomy

 4:25 p.m. – 4:30 p.m. Winners of GSEC Poster Competition Announced