The Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology is comprised of a diverse faculty with broad research interests ranging from the molecular control mechanisms of RNA stability to the definition of crystal structures of membrane and soluble proteins.

Michael R. Blackburn, Ph.D.

Professor and Director of Pulmonary Center of Excellence
Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences
Michael.R.Blackburn@uth.tmc.edu

view profile view lab

William Dowhan, Ph.D.

Professor and John S. Dunn Chair
Biochemistry & Molecular Biology
William.Dowhan@uth.tmc.edu

view profile view lab

Leng Han, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor
CPRIT SCHOLAR Cancer Prevention Research Institute of Texas
Leng.Han@uth.tmc.edu

view profile view lab

Vasanthi Jayaraman, Ph.D.

Professor
2016 McGovern Scholar, 2016 Co-Chair Biophysical Society Annual Meeting
Vasanthi.Jayaraman@uth.tmc.edu

view profile view lab

Jianping Jin, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
BCB Graduate Program
Jianping.Jin@uth.tmc.edu

view profile view lab

Wenbo Li, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor
Cancer Prevention Research Institute of Texas (CPRIT) Scholar
Wenbo.Li@uth.tmc.edu

view profile

John Putkey, Ph.D.

Professor and Vice-Chairman
BCB Graduate Program
John.Putkey@uth.tmc.edu

view profile view lab

Irina I. Serysheva, Ph.D.

Associate Professor and Director of Structural Biology Imaging Center
BCB Graduate Program
Irina.I.Serysheva@uth.tmc.edu

view profile view lab Structural Biology Imaging Center NCMI

Ann-Bin Shyu, Ph.D.

Jesse H. Jones Chair and Professor
BCB Graduate Program
Ann-Bin.Shyu@uth.tmc.edu

view profile view lab Shyu Lab Publications

John Spudich, Ph.D.

Robert A. Welch Distinguished Chair in Chemistry; Director, Center for Membrane Biology; Professor, Biochemistry & Molecular Biology
Fellow, American Academy of Arts & Sciences; President, International Union of Photobiology
John.L.Spudich@uth.tmc.edu

view profile view lab Center for Membrane Biology International Union of Photobiology

Lei Zheng, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
BCB Graduate Program
Lei.Zheng@uth.tmc.edu

view profile view lab

Heidi Vitrac, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Biochemistry
Heidi.Vitrac@uth.tmc.edu

view profile

Xu Wang, Ph.D.

Instructor in Biological Sciences
Xu.Wang@uth.tmc.edu

view profile

Zhaoyang Zhao, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Biochemistry
Zhaoyang.Zhao@uth.tmc.edu

view profile

John A. DeMoss, Ph.D.

John.A.DeMoss@uth.tmc.edu

Julia Lever, Ph.D.

Julia.E.Lever@uth.tmc.edu

Henry W. Strobel, Ph.D.

Professor Emeritus, Distinguished Teaching Professor
Henry.W.Strobel@uth.tmc.edu

TIAA-CREF Distinguished Medical Educator

© Copyright 2008-Present - The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston (UTHealth)