LIM Image

Mission Statement

The Leadership in Medicine (LIM) track is designed to provide enhanced opportunities for resident physicians interested in primary care, hospitalist medicine, and global health careers with an emphasis on physician leadership development. The track is incorporated into the current 3-year Internal Medicine residency curriculum and begins in the PGY-2 year. In addition to specialized didactic sessions during their ambulatory block, LIM residents engage in research and procedure workshops throughout this track. The diverse curriculum aims to promote awareness of evolving health care delivery models in the US, increase understanding of the issues contributing to health care disparities locally and abroad, and provide trainees with tools to facilitate growth as leaders in their respective future careers.

The track consists of four main components:

1. Career development through specialized didactics
2. Electives tailored to residents’ interest including hospitalist medicine, primary care or global health
3. Research
4. Participation in leadership and mentorship activities.

Program highlights include:

  • Didactic sessions during ambulatory block that include guest speakers, interactive workshops,and lectures
  • 2-4 week elective time in dedicated area of career interest
  • Participation in a 2- or 4-week healthcare business course through University of Texas
  • Leadership in morbidity/mortality and wellness conferences
  • Opportunities in various global health electives
  • Point-of-care ultrasound training for inpatient
  • Outpatient procedure training (joint injections, dermatologic procedures)

How to Apply

  • PGY 1 Categorical Internal Medicine Residents
  • Applications open November 1.  Deadline for submission is December 31
  • For more information contact Amee Amin

Current Residents

PGY 2                                              PGY 3
Jeffrey Chen                                   Kara Calhoun
Uzoamaka Kim Dike                       David Fink
Johanna Gerwer                             Astrid Grouls
Carissa Huq                                    Nitya Kumar
Avni Mody                                       Janvi Todai
–                                                      Tiffany Truong