Dean’s Research Scholarship Awards

The Dean of McGovern Medical School at UTHealth has provided up to five scholarships ranging from $1,500 – $3,000 to recognize post-candidacy GSBS students in good academic standing, who have achieved distinction in biomedical research. The deadline to submit applications is April 1, 2021 at 5:00 p.m.

Eligibility: This award is open to GSBS students with advisors who are members of the McGovern Medical School faculty.

  • These scholarships are considered supplements to the standard GRA stipend.
  • Students must have successfully advanced to Ph.D. candidacy prior to the application deadline (April 1, 2021).
  • Students who have previously received this award are not eligible.
  • Members of the Graduate Student Education Committee (GSEC) will review the applications and select the top five awardees. These  students will present their work at the Virtual GSEC Student Research Symposium scheduled for May 18, 2021.

Download Application and Instructions: Deans-Research-Scholarship-Awards-Instructions-final2-1

2020 Dean’s Research Award Winners: 

Ryan Durham
Natasha Kharas
Alexandra Berroyer
Pedram Honarphisheh
Alexis Mobley
Junsuk Ko

View the complete list of past winners


Contact Kimberly Campbell, Office of Research Affairs at McGovern Medical School at UTHealth, MSB 7.047, via email or telephone, 713.500.5605.