Five ORL Faculty Members Named Texas Super Doctors

February 16, 2020

Super Doctors (S300)Martin J. Citardi, MD; Amber Luong, MD, PhD; Tang Ho, MD; Ibrahim “Trey” Alava III, MD; and Sancak Yuksel, MD, have been named by their peers as Super Doctors® in Texas. Super Doctors are selected through a rigorous process that identifies providers with high peer recognition and outstanding professional achievement.

Dr. Citardi is professor and chair of the Department of Otorhinolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery at McGovern Medical School at UTHealth and chief of otorhinolaryngology-head and neck surgery at Memorial Hermann-Texas Medical Center. He specializes in the treatment of complicated sinus and nasal disease and is a core member of both the Texas Sinus Institute and Texas Skull Base Physicians. An internationally recognized ear, nose, and throat surgeon, he has special interests in refractory sinusitis, revision sinus surgery, cerebrospinal fluid rhinorrhea, image-guided surgery, and minimally invasive anterior skull base surgery. Dr. Citardi is a fellow of the American Academy of Otolaryngology, the American College of Surgeons, and the American Rhinologic Society.

Dr. Luong, associate professor in the department, is a practicing rhinologist who directs the department’s translational science program focused on the role of innate immunity and environmental triggers on the pathophysiology of chronic sinus disease. She is actively engaged in a number of industry-funded translational studies that directly stem from her interest in the relationship of chronic inflammation between the sinuses and lungs, and in innovative methods for management of chronic sinus disease. Both her basic science and translational research complement her clinical interest in the medical and surgical management of chronic sinus disease. Dr. Luong has received numerous awards, including the Women in Otolaryngology Helen F. Krause, MD Memorial Trailblazer Award; the American Rhinologic Society Presidential Citation; and the Triological Society’s Edmund Prince Fowler Award.

Dr. Ho is an associate professor and chief of facial plastic and reconstructive surgery in the Department of Otorhinolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery. He is board- certified by both the American Board of Facial Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery and the American Board of Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery. His clinical interests include aesthetic and reconstructive surgeries of the face, including facial rejuvenation procedures (facelift, brow lift, Botox® injection, injectable fillers), rhinoplasty, facial reanimation procedures for patients with facial paralysis, reconstructive surgery of skin cancer defects, and complex microvascular facial reconstruction. He is currently engaged in research on tissue engineering and clinical outcomes of rhinoplasty. Dr. Ho was named among Castle Connolly’s list of top doctors in 2019 for the second consecutive year.

Dr. Alava is an associate professor and chief of otolaryngology-head and neck surgery at Harris Health Lyndon B. Johnson Hospital, Texas’ busiest Level III Trauma Center, and serves as medical director of the 32 specialty clinics at the hospital, helping physicians and staff develop innovative strategies for care. He has also developed subspecialty otolaryngology care for rhinology, head and neck surgery, laryngology, and otology at Harris Health LBJ. Dr. Alava was named a Super Doctors Rising Star in 2016, 2017, and 2018, and has been recognized with the Dean’s Teaching Excellence Award at McGovern Medical School in 2017, 2018, and 2019. His clinical interests include innovations in the treatment of endocrine head and neck surgery, skin cancers of the head and neck, and all aspects of general otolaryngology. His research interests revolve around patient-centered outcomes, process improvements, health care delivery models, and health care disparities in the underserved population.

Dr. Yuksel is an associate professor in the department and a member of the American Academy of Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery. His clinical interests include pediatric ear diseases, cochlear implantation, newborn and pediatric swallowing and airway problems, congenital head and neck lesions, adult hearing loss, complex ear problems and surgeries, lateral skull base tumors and surgeries, salivary gland strictures and stones, and sialendoscopy. Dr. Yuksel has been named ORL Faculty Member of the Year by residents from 2009 to 2019, and has been awarded the UTHealth Dean’s Teaching Excellence Award five times. Houstonia magazine has named him to its Top Doctors list every year since 2015.


Schedule an Appointment

Call Us

To schedule an appointment over the phone, give our office a call at (713)-486-5019.

Online Appointment Requests

Patients may submit their appointment requests through our online Appointment Request Form.

Both current and new patients can request appointments through MyUTHealth, our patient portal.

Schedule an Appointment

Patients can schedule an appointment over the telephone (713-486-5000), by booking directly onto physician schedules online, and through MyUTHealth, our patient portal.