Mayes earns Scleroderma Foundation Lifetime Achievement Award

Maureen D. Mayes, MD, MPH, professor in the Department of Internal Medicine has received the Scleroderma Foundation’s 2020 Lifetime Achievement Award. Mayes is the founder of the Scleroderma Clinical and Research Program at McGovern Medical School, where her clinical interests are in the diagnosis and treatment of scleroderma. She also conducts basic science research on […]

Geriatric and Palliative Medicine Naming Ceremony Philanthropic commitment gives geriatric medicine division a new name

In gratitude for the care they have received from Holly Holmes, MD, Director of the Division of Geriatric and Palliative Medicine in McGovern Medical School at UTHealth, Joan and Stanford Alexander have made a significant gift to strengthen the division. “We see a tremendous need to ensure that older adults receive the care that will […]

The Inaugural vice chairs for Diversity and Inclusion McGovern names vice chairs for Diversity and Inclusion

McGovern Medical School has named eight faculty as the inaugural vice chairs for Diversity and Inclusion, an initiative which began under former dean Barbara J. Stoll, MD. “Having vice chairs for Diversity and Inclusion in some of our larger departments is another important milestone for McGovern Medical School,” said LaTanya Love, MD, executive vice president […]

psychiatric patients Providing a safe environment for psychiatric patients during pandemic

The very heart of inpatient care for psychiatric patients is socialization, group therapy, shared meals, and a standard two people per room. Then COVID-19 hit with the accompanying public health warnings to isolate, socially distance, and wear masks. That sent clinicians and staff from The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston (UTHealth) moving […]

COVID-19 vaccine Researchers seeking volunteers for COVID-19 vaccine study

A Phase III clinical trial to assess if a potential vaccine is effective at preventing symptomatic COVID-19 is now open for enrollment by The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston (UTHealth) in collaboration with Memorial Hermann-Texas Medical Center. The study vaccine, AstraZeneca’s AZD1222, has been shown in early-stage human trials to produce a positive immune response. […]

Trio of McGovern faculty win UT STAR Awards

Three members of the McGovern Medical School faculty, Shervin Assassi, MD, MS; Harry Karmouty-Quintana, PhD; and Kyle L. Poulsen, PhD; have earned The University of Texas System’s STAR Awards for the 2020 fiscal year. The UT System Board of Regents created the Faculty Science and Technology Acquisition and Retention (STARs) Program in 2004 to help […]

President's Scholar Awards 2019 President’s Scholar Awards: Four scholars receive UTHealth’s most distinguished award

Four distinguished scholars, including three from McGovern Medical School, who demonstrate a longstanding excellence in the areas of teaching, research, and clinical care have received the top honor awarded by UTHealth President Giuseppe N. Colasurdo, MD, Alkek-Williams Distinguished Chair. Recipients of the 2019 President’s Scholar Awards are: Research: Maureen D. Mayes, MD, MPH Teaching: Patricia […]

covid-19 vulnerable populations $5 million NIH grant awarded to reduce COVID-19-related disparities in vulnerable populations

To help reduce COVID-19-related health disparities in vulnerable populations in Texas, a multi-institutional team of researchers led by The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston (UTHealth) will identify disease hotspots and testing deserts in three racially diverse areas, and then develop and evaluate intervention strategies to increase COVID-19 testing. The study, which is […]

COVID-19 center of excellence First Houston post-coronavirus clinic part of new UTHealth COVID-19 Center of Excellence

Bringing together expertise and access to the best clinical care, research trials, discovery science, and public health knowledge, The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston (UTHealth) has established the UTHealth COVID-19 Center of Excellence. The center includes the first post-COVID-19 clinic in Houston at UT Physicians, the clinical practice of McGovern Medical School at UTHealth, […]

McGovern students create COVID-19 digest

McGovern Medical Students from the Infectious Disease Interest Group have created the “Weekly Digest of COVID-19 Guidelines,” an electronic newsletter to help health care professionals and students at UTHealth stay abreast of the latest information regarding best practices in COVID-19 care. Led by faculty adviser and professor of medicine, Luis Ostrosky, MD, a team of […]