Pediatric Emergency Medicine

Program Overview

Thomas McCarty, MD

Thomas McCarty, MD
Assistant Professor
Fellowship Director, Pediatric Emergency Medicine

Welcome to UTHealth Houston’s Pediatric Emergency Medicine Fellowship. Based out of Children’s Memorial Hermann Hospital in the Texas Medical Center, our program offers outstanding training in the clinical practice of pediatric emergency medicine, research, administration, and teaching. Alongside a group of highly qualified and dedicated faculty, our fellows treat pediatric patients from all subspecialties and provide emergency care in the busiest Level 1 Trauma Center in the United States. We accept graduates from both pediatrics and emergency medicine residencies.

Why McGovern?

  • Busiest Level 1 Trauma Center in the United States
  • Children’s Hospital has 278 beds, including 30 PICU beds, and all pediatric subspecialties
  • State-of-the-art Simulation Lab
  • Dedicated Research division (statisticians, research coordinators)
  • Dedicated Ultrasound division with credentialing in Point of Care Ultrasound
  • EMS experience with Houston Fire Department (largest accredited municipal fire agency in the world) and Memorial Hermann LifeFlight
  • Experience in a community setting at Memorial Hermann Sugar Land
  • Moonlighting opportunities available at affiliated facilities
  • Live in one of the most diverse cities in the county with an abundance of great food, activity, art, and culture