Faculty and Current Fellows

Fellowship Director

Zheng Ben Ma, MD, MHCMZheng Ben Ma, MD MHCM
Associate Fellowship Director
Assistant Medical Director of Emergency Services, Memorial Hermann TMC

Dr. Ma serves as the assistant medical director of emergency services at Memorial Hermann Hospital, Texas Medical Center. Prior to joining UT Health, Dr. Ma completed a fellowship in emergency department leadership and administration at the Mass General Brigham health system where his initiatives aimed to streamline admission for critically ill patients in the ED, reduce time to antibiotic administration in sepsis, and integrate operations across multiple campuses within a complex health system. His capstone project involved a detailed analysis of emergency care delivery services with care improvement recommendations for a rural region of the northeast.

Dr. Ma is a Houston native and completed medical school at Baylor College of Medicine where he served as class president. He completed residency training in Emergency Medicine at the Harvard Affiliated Emergency Medicine Residency at Massachusetts General Hospital and Brigham and Women’s Hospital and served as chief resident. He holds a Master’s in Healthcare Management (MHCM) from the Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health.

Core Faculty

Catherine Reynolds, MD
Chief of Emergency Medicine Services, LBJ General Hospital
Assistant Professor
Kunal Sharma, MD, CMQ
Associate Professor
Vice Chief Of Staff For Quality, LBJ General Hospital
Amit Mehta, MD, CMQ
Assistant Professor
Chief Medical Informatics Officer, Harris Health System

Affiliate Faculty

Brandy Ferguson, MD
Assistant Professor, Medical Director, Disaster Management, Memorial Hermann Hospital System
Samuel D. Luber, MD, MPH
Executive Vice-Chair Of Academic Affairs
Assistant Dean For Graduate Medical Education
Bentley J. Bobrow, MD, FACEP
Director of Texas Emergency Medicine Research Center
John Waller-Delarosa, MD
Assistant Professor
Director of Quality Improvement and Education
Yashwant Chathampally, MD, MSc, CMQ
Associate Professor
Vice Chair For Quality Care
Assistant Chief Of Staff For Quality, LBJ Hospital
Nnaemeka G. Okafor, MD, MS
Assistant Professor, Emergency Medicine
James J. McCarthy, M.D.James J. McCarthy, MD
Chief Executive Physician - Memorial Hermann Health System

Current Fellows

Mary-Kate Gorlick, MD
Administration And Operations Fellow
Jonathan Newsome, M.D.Jonathan Newsome, MD
Administration And Operations Fellow