Group Photo for Graduating Class of 2019 McGovern students celebrate A Week to Remember

McGovern Medical School kicked off 2019 Match Week with the second annual “A Week to Remember” reception, jointly hosted by the Alumni-Student Network and the McGovern Medical School Alumni Association. “The Alumni Association is happy to join with the Alumni-Student Network for the second annual ‘A Week To Remember’ reception,” said Melanie Collins, MD ’90, […]

McGovern Medical School Class of 2019 readies to meet its match

One barely survived sepsis as an infant. One is proudly serving his country. And two became engaged in Webber Plaza, the same place where on Friday more than 225 students at McGovern Medical School at The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston (UTHealth) will find out where they will continue their journeys to […]

Brain Night 2019 UTHealth hosts Brain Night for Kids at The Health Museum March 14

If you are looking for a Spring Break activity for young children that is entertaining and informative, pencil in Brain Night for Kids from 6 to 8 p.m. Thursday, March 14, at The Health Museum, 1515 Hermann Drive. It is free and sponsored by the Neuroscience Research Center at McGovern Medical School. Where else can a child […]

Run for the Rose set for March 31

The 17th annual Run for the Rose will be held Sunday, March 31 at NRG park. The survivor stroll kicks off the action at 8 a.m., while the timed and non-timed 5K begins at 8:15 a.m., and the family 1K starts at 8:45 a.m. Registration for the adult timed 5K starts at $35, and the […]

2019 Red Duke Trauma Symposium 2019 Red Duke Trauma Symposium set for March 29-30

To address controversies in trauma, emergency medicine, and critical care, Memorial Hermann Health System will host the 2019 Red Duke Trauma Symposium March 29-30 at the J.W. Marriott Houston (5150 Westheimer Road). At this year’s event, leading experts in acute care general surgery, emergency medicine, orthopedic traumatology, and neurotrauma highlight advances in treatment of adult […]

Scientists generate functional, transplantable B cells

Functional B-1 cells derived from mouse embryonic stem cells secrete natural antibodies and are capable of long-term engraftment after transplantation in mice, according to a study published by Cell Press on Feb. 7 in Stem Cell Reports. If translated to humans, the findings suggest that B-1 cells generated from pluripotent stem cells could one day […]

Garsin earns American Academy of Microbiology Fellowship

The American Academy of Microbiology (AAM) has selected 109 new Fellows for 2019 through a highly-selective, peer-review process based on their records of scientific achievement and original contributions that have advanced microbiology. Danielle Garsin, PhD, professor in the Department of Microbiology and Molecular Genetics, is among those selected to the honorific leadership group within the […]

Neuro Seed Grant Program McGovern, Rice announce second round of seed grants

McGovern Medical School and Rice University announce a joint neuro and behavioral seed grant program to encourage new collaborations between Rice and UTHealth researchers. Three grants of up to $60,000 each, to be shared by Rice and UTHealth researchers, will fund initial research into critically important neuro and behavioral-related health problems. The organizers encourage researchers […]

Chuck Stokes Grand Rounds Zero Harm: A goal for every healthcare system in the country

According to patient safety experts, healthcare death from medical error is the third-leading cause of death in the United States each year, and Chuck Stokes, President & CEO of Memorial Hermann Health System, is determined to fix that problem. The yearly death total caused by medical error across the nation sits at a staggering 251,454 […]

3D Model of Cell Calcium Levels Solving the 3D puzzle in calcium-signaling research

Precise regulation of cell calcium levels is essential to health. The body tightly controls the calcium homeostasis that is maintained by specialized transport proteins known as ion channels and transporters. A new UTHealth study pinpoints one of these ion channels – inositol 1,4,5-trisphospghate receptor (IP3R) that is found in virtually all cell types. Through the […]