Faculty 2022

Professor and Chairman, Department of Internal Medicine
Malcolm Feist Chair of Interventional Cardiology
Professor Emeritus, UT Health San Antonio
LSU Health School of Medicine
David Baran, MD, FACC, FSCAI
System Director, Advanced Heart Failure, Transplant & MCS
Professor of Medicine
Eastern Virginia Medical School
Sentara Heart Hospital
Arvind Bhimaraj, MD, MPH
Assistant Professor of Cardiology
Institute for Academic Medicine
Houston Methodist
Weill Cornell Medical College
James A. Burke, MD, Ph.D., FACC
Associate Chief of Cardiology
Medical Director, Acute Mechanical Circulatory Support
Regional Cardiogenic Shock Program
Lehigh Valley Heart Institute
Daniel Burkhoff, MD, PhD
Director, Heart Failure, Hemodynamics, and MCS Research
Cardiovascular Research Foundation
Subhasis Chatterjee, MD. FACS, FACC, FCCP.
Assistant Professor of Surgery
Divisions of General & Cardiothoracic Surgery
Michael E. DeBakey Department of Surgery, Baylor College of Medicine
Director Thoracic Surgical ICU & ECMO Program
Texas Heart Institute at CHI Baylor St. Lukes
Andrew Civitello MD, FACC
Associate Professor, Baylor College of Medicine
Medical Director, Heart Transplant Program
Co-Director, Advanced Heart Failure Center
Director, Advanced Heart Failure Fellowship
Baylor St. Luke’s Medical Center / Texas Heart Institute
Mani A Daneshmand, MD
Andrew J McKelvey Professor in Lung Transplant Surgery
Associate Professor of Surgery
Director-Heart & Lung Transplant, Mechanical Circulatory Support, & ECMO
Division of Cardiothoracic Surgery
Department of Surgery Emory University
Daniel De Backer, MD
Head, Intensive Care and Emergency Depts.,
CHIREC Hospitals, Belgium
Professor of Intensive Care Medicine
Université Libre de Bruxelles, Brussels, Belgium
ESICM Past President
Stavros Drakos, MD, PhD, FACC
Professor of Cardiology & Physiology
Medical Director, Cardiac Mechanical Support & Artificial Heart Program
Co-Director, Heart Failure & Transplantation
Director of Research, Division of Cardiology
University of Utah Healthcare & School of Medicine
Salt Lake VA Medical Center
Aly El Banayosy, MD
Executive Director
Critical Care and Acute Circulatory Support
Nazih Zuhdi Transplant Institute/Advanced Cardiac Care
INTEGRIS Baptist Medical Center
Jerry D. Estep, M.D., FACC, FASE
Section Head, Heart Failure & Transplantation
Cleveland Clinic Foundation
David Feldman, MD, PhD
Professor of Clinical Medicine
Director, Clinical Services Heart, Lung and Vascular Institute
Director, Advanced Myocardial and Circulatory Services
University of Cincinnati College of Medicine
James Goldstein, MD
Cardiologist, Heart Failure & Interventional
Beaumont Hospital-Grosse Pointe
Beaumont Hospital- Royal Oak
Maya Guglin MD, PhD
Director, Heart Failure/Heart Transplantation/MCS Services
Professor, Indiana University School of Medicine
Krannert Institute of Cardiology
Finn Gustafsson, MD
Professor of Cardiology,
University of Copenhagen,
Timothy Henry, MD
Interventional Cardiologist,
Lindner Family Distinguished Chair, Clinical Research
Medical Director,
The Carl and Edyth Linder Center for Research,
The Christ Hospital
Jaime Hernandez-Montfort, MD
Director, Advanced Heart Failure and Recovery
Baylor Scott & White Health
Central Texas – Greater Austin
Steven Hollenberg, MD
Professor of Medicine
Cooper Medical School of Rowan University
Director, Coronary Care Unit
Cooper University Hospital
Jacob Jentzer, MD
Critical Care Specialist, Cardiology
Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minnesota
Ulrich P. Jorde, MD
Professor of Medicine
Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Chair, Mechanical Circulatory Support Council
International Society of Heart & Lung Transplantation
Christian Jung, MD
University Professor
Klinik für Kardiologie, Pneumologie und Angiologie
Navin Kapur, MD, FAHA, FACC, FSCAI
Associate Professor,
Tufts University School of Medicine
Jason N. Katz MD, MHS, FAHA
Associate Professor of Medicine
Director of Cardiovascular Critical Care, Duke University Health System & Duke Heart
Co-Director, Duke Mechanical Circulatory Support Program
Co-Director, Duke Cardiac Intensive Care Unit
Duke University Medical Center
Ajay J. Kirtane, MD, SM
Professor of Medicine,
Columbia University Irving Medical Center
Director of the Cardiac Catheterization Laboratories
New York-Presbyterian/Columbia University Irving Medical Center
Michael Mooney, MD
Director Coronary Therapeutics
Minneapolis Heart Institute, Abbott Northwestern Hospital
Sandeep Nathan, MD, MSc, FACC, FSCAI
Associate Professor of Medicine
Medical Director, Cardiac Intensive Care Unit
Director, Interventional Cardiology Fellowship Program
Co-Director, Cardiac Catheterization Laboratory
The University of Chicago Medicine, Heart and Vascular Center
Ivan Netuka, MD, PhD
Professor of Cardiac Surgery
Chairman of Department of Cardiovascular Surgery
Institute for Clinical and Experimental Medicine
Sunil V. Rao MD
Professor of Medicine
Duke University Medical Center
Section Chief, Cardiology
Durham VA Medical Center
Benedikt Schrage, MD
Doctorate of Medicine, Interventional Cardiology
University Medical Center Hamburg
JP (Jose) Simano Henriques, MD
Heart Center, Department of Cardiology,
Amsterdam Cardiovascular Sciences, Amsterdam UMC,
University of Amsterdam, Amsterdam, The Netherlands.
Mark S. Slaughter, MD
Professor and Chair Department of Cardiovascular and Thoracic Surgery
CII Medical Director and Jewish Hospital Distinguished Chair in Cardiovascular Surgery
University of Louisville
Marvin J. Slepian M.D.
Regents’ Professor
Professor of Medicine – Cardiology
Professor of Medical Imaging
Professor and Associate Department Head – BioMedical Engineering
Professor of Materials Sciences and Engineering
Professor of Chemical and Environmental Engineering
McGuire Scholar, Eller College of Management
Director, ACABI – Arizona Center for Accelerated BioMedical Innovation
University of Arizona
President – ASAIO American Society for Artificial Internal Organs
Syed Tanveer Rab, MD
Professor, Interventional Cardiology
Emory University
Behnam Tehrani, MD
Medical Director, Cardiac Catheterization Laboratories
Inova Heart and Vascular Institute
Jeffrey Teuteberg, MD
Associate Professor of Medicine
The Stanford University Medical Center
Holger Thiele, MD
Professor and Director,
Department of Internal Medicine-Cardiology,
Director, Leipzig Heart Science gGmbH
Heart Center Leipzig at University of Leipzig
Joseph E. Tonna, MD, MS, FCCM, FACEP, FAAEM
Associate Professor with Tenure
Section Head, Cardiothoracic Critical Care
Medical Director, Cardiovascular ICU/Cardiothoracic Critical Care
Associate Director, ECMO Services
Sean van Diepen, MD, FRCPC
Assistant Professor, Critical Care Medicine
University of Alberta
Esther Vorovich, MD
Assistant Professor of Medicine
Northwestern Medicine
Feinberg School of Medicine
Dirk Westermann, MD
Professor of Medicine
Deputy Clinic Director
University Heart & Vascular Center Hamburg – UKE
Joseph Zwischenberger, MD
Professor and Chairman of Surgery
University of Kentucky Healthcare