Critical Care Fellowship

Doctors performing procedures and learning

Our fellows experience an incredible variety of ICU experiences.

Program Overview

UTHealth offers a two-year Critical Care Medicine fellowship program for trainees graduating from Emergency Medicine residency through the Department of Internal Medicine. The program focuses on teaching the principles and management of critical care to the next generation of physicians. Fellows care for patients at Memorial Hermann-Texas Medical Center (MHH-TMC), a tertiary referral center, as well as Lyndon B. Johnson General Hospital (LBJ), a county hospital.

Fellows rotate through a variety of Intensive Care Units (ICUs) including :

  • MHH-TMC Medical Intensive Care Unit
  • MHH-TMC Heart and Vascular Institute
  • MHH-TMC Coronary Critical Unit
  • MHH-TMC Cardiovascular Surgical Intensive Care Unit
  • MHH-TMC Neurological Trauma Intensive Care Unit
  • MHH-TMC Surgical Trauma Intensive Care Unit
  • LBJ Medical Intensive Care Unit
  • LBJ Surgical Intensive Care Unit

At fellowship completion, fellows will be eligible to sit for through the Critical Care Medicine Certification Exam through the American Board of Internal Medicine (ABIM).

Click here for more information.