McGovern Medical School — A Great Choice!

McGovern Medical School is guided and inspired by the ideals of Kathrine G. and John P. McGovern, MD, whose foundation made a transformational $75 million gift in 2015 to bolster medical training, provide full scholarships, and support scientific discovery and innovation at UTHealth Houston and its medical school. In honor of the largest gift in the university’s history, The University of Texas Medical School at Houston was renamed McGovern Medical School. Dr. McGovern was a pediatrician, allergist, immunologist, and educator who helped shape the Texas Medical Center in its formative years. His foundation, now led by his wife Kathrine, continues to transform the Texas Medical Center through gifts supporting the art
and science of medicine.

Mission Driven
With renowned academicians, an innovative curriculum, and a rich history founded in excellence, McGovern Medical School at UTHealth Houston
provides exceptional training to the next generation of physicians and biomedical scientists. Since 1969, when the Texas Legislature established the medical school to address the need for highly qualified physicians, McGovern Medical School has risen to meet the evolving health care needs of the community. With values anchored in quality, service, professionalism, collaboration, and advocacy, McGovern Medical School has a bold mission: To educate future physicians and biomedical scientists for careers dedicated to the highest ideals of their profession; to provide outstanding patient-centered care; and to conduct innovative research that benefits the health and well-being of individuals and communities in Texas and beyond.

Our Location
Located in the heart of the Texas Medical Center, McGovern Medical School is uniquely positioned to advance medical education, health care, and research discovery through collaboration at UTHealth Houston, primary teaching hospitals, and other leading institutions.

Primary teaching hospitals:

  • Memorial Hermann-Texas Medical Center
  • Children’s Memorial Hermann Hospital
  • Harris Health Lyndon B. Johnson Hospital
  • John S. Dunn Behavioral Sciences Center at UTHealth Houston
  • The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center
  • TIRR Memorial Hermann

McGovern Medical School Accreditation
McGovern Medical School is fully accredited by the Liaison Committee on Medical Education. The next survey is scheduled for the 2027-2028 academic year. More information is available at or by contacting