Recruitment & Onboarding

The Department of Anesthesiology at McGovern Medical School, UTHealth, is a large, diverse group of excellent clinicians who work hard to care for some of Houston’s highest acuity patients, while also training the next generation of anesthesiologists. We take pride in providing excellent care for our patients in all subspecialty areas including orthopedic, gynecology, ENT, neuro, general, trauma, and OB. Faculty have the opportunity to supervise and teach residents at one of the largest residency programs in the nation. In addition, the department provides ample career support towards becoming a physician educator, physician administrator, or physician scientist.

To apply for a position, please email your CV to Michelle Ge, MD, at

Michelle GeMichelle A. Ge, MD
Director of Recruitment
Dr. Daniel ShohamDaniel Shoham, MD
Associate Director of Recruitment


Division of General Anesthesiology

Memorial Hermann Hospital

William Baumgartner, MDWilliam C. Baumgartner, MDJohanna-de-HaanJ. Blair de Haan, MD
Omonele Nwokolo, MDOmonele Nwokolo, MDPaul Potnuru, MDPaul Potnuru, MD
Dr. Sudipta SenSudipta Sen, MDNaveen Vanga, MD

Harris Health System’s Lyndon B. Johnson Hospital

Peter Doyle, MDPeter D. Doyle, MDDr. Sara-Guzman ReyesSara Guzman-Reyes, MD
Colleen Rodriquez, MDColleen Rodriquez, MD

Division of Obstetric Anesthesiology

Maya Suresh, MDMaya S. Suresh, MBBS

Division of Cardiovascular Anesthesiology

Rishi Kumar, MDRishi Kumar, MDYafen Liang, MDYafen Liang, MD
John Zaki, MDJohn Zaki, MD, FASE, FACC

Division of Pain Management Anesthesiology

Grant Chen, MD, MBA, FASA

Division of Pediatric Anesthesiology

Maria Matuszczak, MDMaria Matuszczak, MD


Division of Pediatric Cardiovascular Anesthesiology

Dr. Nischal GautamNischal K. Gautam, MBBS


Division of Critical Care Anesthesiology

Dr. George WilliamsGeorge W. Williams, II, MD, FASA, FCCM, FCCP