At Large Faculty Team Members

Dr. Daniel Contreras

Daniel Contreras, MD, is an assistant professor in the Department of Anesthesiology.





William Daily, M.D.William H. Daily, MD, is a graduate of UTHSC-San Antonio. Following residency at UT Houston, he was faculty at UT Houston for 3 years and then was in private practice for 15 years. Missing the academic environment he returned to UT Houston in 2007. He has been actively involved in multiple areas of the department, both clinical and administrative. He serves as the Compliance Officer for the Dept of Anesthesiology and on the Surgeons’ Council Steering Committee at MHH as well as Surgeons’ Council. He is currently on the McGovern Medical School Admissions Committee. Clinical areas of interest include trauma, ambulatory and obstetrical anesthesia. Other areas include OR Management, professionalism as well as resident education. He has been a delegate representative to the TSA for many years.


Lara Ferrario, MD, is a board-certified anesthesiologist with specific expertise in the field of neuroanesthesiology. Dr. Ferrario received her medical degree and the Italian Board in Anesthesiology and Intensive Care from the University of Milan, Italy. She subsequently completed her residency training in anesthesiology at Loyola University of Chicago and at the University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston. Dr. Ferrario is an Associate Professor at the University of Texas McGovern Medical School Department of Anesthesiology. In 2008, she assumed the administrative role as the Chief of the Division of Neuroanesthesia. In her enduring effort to maintain the highest academic standards in the field on neuroanesthesia, in 2009 she established the Neuroanesthesia Fellowship Program which she has been directing since. Dr. Ferrario was elected member of the national task-force for the accreditation of the neuroanesthesia fellowship program and she is currently serving as secretary and treasurer of the International Council on Perioperative Neuroscience Training.

Dr. Srikar Jonna

Srikar Jonna, MD, is an assistant professor in the Department of Anesthesiology.





Alice O’Brien, MD, is an associate professor in the Department of Anesthesiology.






Dr. Toinette Smith

Toinette Smith, MD, is an assistant professor in the Department of Anesthesiology.