Dr. Cynthia Ju

Professor & Vice Chair of Research
Cynthia Ju, PhD

The Department of Anesthesiology at McGovern Medical School at UTHealth pursues excellence in clinical, translational and basic science research.

Our residents are exposed to research opportunities through our monthly Research in Progress seminars where faculty present their current research projects. Residents are encouraged to engage with faculty where mutual research interests align to actively take a role in these projects. We are also fortunate to be able to offer an immersive research track for those residents who would like a more robust research experience.

We currently have remarkable levels of non-federal funding for a wide variety of clinical trials and NIH funding to study the molecular and cellular mechanisms of organ injury using a broad range of disease models simulating critical care conditions, including acute kidney and lung injury, myocardial and liver ischemia, and intestinal inflammation.

Yafen Liang, MD

Associate Professor & Vice Chair of Clinical Research
Yafen Liang, MD

The department has recently established the Center for Perioperative Medicine (CPM) as a multidisciplinary, interdepartmental research program striving to find novel therapeutic approaches to improve outcomes in surgical patients, and patients requiring emergency medicine or critical care.

Leveraging UTHealth’s resources, state-of-the-art facilities, and myriad of research expertise, the department is well positioned to become a national leader in academic anesthesiology research.

The Department of Anesthesiology also fosters interdepartmental collaborations with scientists at UTHealth and the Texas Medical Center.