Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society

Congratulations to the newly elected fourth year members of Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society listed below. They were elected in August 2023:

Dylan AbeysekeraHayden Lydick
Robert AdkinsTimothy McIntyre
Maria Amigo Mathew Morico
Mariana AparicioEmelie Nelson
Mina AttiaElizabeth Oliver
Brooke BeanlandChristopher Owen
Morgan BlakerAshlyn Parkhurst
Jeanne Cardenas Kajal Patel
Steven CarlisleKenneth Paul
Audrey ChongJackson Rogers
Hannah CocoEthan Sij
Ethan Damron Max Skibber
Anna FiedlerSam Slusky
Gabriella GarciaEmma Stenz
Brendan Grant Michael Talanker
Zoe HirschiDaniel Tate
Allison HolzmanRachel Tindall
Kendall HowenRylee Trotter
Shelby IrwinPaul Wagstaff
Alexander IvanovOlivia Watson
Leah JeemonLindsay Weitzel
Anna JendrzeyClaire Wilkin
Brandon KnightTaylor Wolfenberger
Megan LaughlinAndrew Zarker
Michael Zhao

Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society is the national honorary society for medical schools in the U.S. All but a very few accredited U.S. medical schools have an AOA chapter.

The McGovern Medical School chapter is Delta of Texas. The national criteria specify that a maximum of one-sixth of a graduating class can be elected and all candidates must be in the top quartile. The primary criterion is academic excellence, which is defined by our chapter as the number of Honors grades received through the third year. Honors grades are assigned points based on the length or weight of the course, and there are minimum numbers of Honors grades/points for both the first two years and the third year. However, character and professionalism are important, and research, community service, and extracurricular activities are also considered.

Members are elected at the end of the third year and/or beginning of the fourth year and are formally inducted at a banquet in early March.

Carolyn L. Kuckein Student Research Fellowship

To foster the development of the next generation of medical researchers,  AOA offers the Carolyn L. Kuckein Student Research Fellowship.  Students must submit their proposal to Dr. Eugene Boisaubin, Chapter Councilor, for review and consideration.