Resident Leadership & Accomplishments

Aside from resident success in the clinical realm, our program cultivates resident leaders. Many of our residents are involved within our program and even in various organizations on a state and national level, advocating for fellow trainees and making a lasting impact.

Resident Leadership

  • Program
    • Clinician-Educator Track
      • Francis Celii, MD – Chair
      • Mindy Wang, MD – Founder
    • Resident Mentorship Program Committee
      • Nicole Akinseye, MD
      • Steven Lee, MD
      • Mindy Wang, MD – Founder
    • Resident Discrepancy Review Committee
      • Roland Pomfret, MD – Chair
      • Usama Awan, MD – Chair
      • Shadan Alwan, MD
      • Amir Khadivi, MD
      • Mindy Wang, MD – Past Chair
      • Jennifer Hanak, MD – Past Chair
    • Hospital
      • Housestaff Senate
        • DR
          • Reema Al-Rasheed, MD
          • Charisma Desai, MD
        • IR
          • Francis Celii, MD
          • Karthik Bande, MD
        • Regional
          • Texas Radiological Society (TRS) Resident Representative
            • Lynsey Maciolek, MD (2022-present)
            • Charisma Desai, MD (2021-2022)
            • Mindy Wang, MD (2020-2021)
          • National
            • RSNA Resident Representative
              • Damir Ljuboja, MD (2022-present)
              • Charisma Desai, MD (2021-2022)
              • Mindy Wang, MD (2020-2021)
            • RadioGraphics Panel
              • Mindy Wang, MD (2020-present)
            • Introduction to Academic Radiology
              • Shadan Alwan, MD (2022)
              • Mindy Wang, MD (2020)
            • AUR Radiology Resident Academic Leadership and Development Program
              • Alexander Pasciak, MD (2022)
              • Mindy Wang, MD (2021)
            • Society of Interventional Radiology (SIR)
              • Damir Ljuboja, MD – SIR Practice Improvement and Change Committee (2022-present)
              • Damir Ljuboja, MD – SIR Performance Measures and Outcomes Measures Subcommittee (2022-present)
              • John Qiao, MD – SIR-RFS Research and Innovation Committee – The Innovation Social Club Co-founder (2022-present)
            • Society of Abdominal Radiology (SAR)
              • Mindy Wang, MD – Resident & Fellow Section Chair (2022-present)
            • American Roentgen Ray Society (ARRS)
              • Mindy Wang, MD – Resident Advisory Subcommittee Chair (2021-2022)
            • American Alliance of Academic Chief Residents (A3CR2)
              • Mindy Wang, MD – Vice President (2022-present)


Recent Honors and Awards

  • 2023
    • Mindy Wang, MD – Texas Radiological Society Guiberteau Award for Resident Excellence
  • 2021
    • John Qiao, MD – Columbia Venture Competition – Columbia-CareOne Healthcare Innovation Challenge
    • Mindy Wang, MD – Certificate of Merit, RSNA Annual Meeting (x2)
    • Hunter Sellers, MD – Scientific Abstract Poster Award, ACR Annual Conference on Quality & Safety
    • Damir Ljuboja, MD – SIR Advanced Therapies in Venous Interventions (ACTIVE) Trainee Scholarship
Mindy Guiberteau Award

Chief Resident Mindy Wang, MD receiving the 2023 Guiberteau award, pictured with Milton Guiberteau, MD, FACR

Leadership Development
We encourage our residents to develop strong leadership skills and gain an understanding of healthcare economics through the ACR’s Radiology Leadership Initiative Resident Milestones Program. The curriculum was developed by the ACR and blends the passive learning facilitated by articles and videos with active and collaborative learning to reinforce key concepts and provide residents with essential healthcare systems training.


Members of the Innovation Task Force with Dr. Ferguson and Dr. Sanhaji (2022)


Radiology Dinner 2023

Texas Radiological Society UT group dinner (Feb 2023)