Cardiovascular Disease Fellowship


Follow Us on Twitter/X:



The Cardiovascular Disease division is part of the McGovern Medical School at the University of Texas Health Science Center (UTHealth) in Houston, TX. We are located within the Texas Medical Center, home to multiple hospitals, including the University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center and Memorial Hermann Hospital.

The Cardiovascular Disease fellowship is a three-year, ACGME-accredited program providing comprehensive training in general cardiology. In three years, fellows are exposed to a wide range of pathologies in multiple different practice settings by working in four hospitals. They actively participate in didactics run by fellows, world-known faculty, and local and national conferences. The department also includes subspecialty training in Interventional Cardiology, Electrophysiology, Advanced Heart Failure, and Cardiovascular Disease Research Pathway (TMB).

We aim to provide clinical training with expert faculty guidance so our fellows can comfortably practice independently after graduation. Fellows who complete the program will have met the requirements for the ABIM Cardiovascular Disease board exam.

For more information on this training opportunity:

Program Director: Monica Patel, MD
Associate Program Director: Konstantinos Charitakis, MD
Associate Program Director: Deepa Raghunathan, MD
Associate Program Director: Susan Laing, MD
Associate Program Director: S. Wamique Yusuf, MD
Associate Program Director: Anju Bhardwaj, MD
Program Manager: Claudette McDonald, BA – 713-500-6577